New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 21, 2015, 11:13 AM
Find More Posts by old1104
Joined Nov 2013
97 Posts
Question
Design Question

I am new to RC and even newer to RC gliders. Have been flying free flights off and on since the 50's design my own planes. I used to fly A2 gliders and used to do real well well at regional contests.

I had asked earlier about flying in turbulent air. I have two different gliders. One low inertia in roll and yaw (own design and was built to see what it takes to fly electric RC gliders). The second has high inertia in roll and yaw. Both gliders are rudder elevator pod and boom gliders. The heavy glider wing was built for winching and the other was built for electric. Both are flown as electric only. . I crashed the high inertia glider when changing it over to the DX9 radio. I rebuilt it but changed the tail section and the boom. I lengthed the boom and made the vertical much bigger horizontal. Before the high inertia glider would have problems with yaw oscillations if I over controlled it. High inertia glider was adapted to a pod and boom that was set up for an OLYII boom lenght and tail section size. The glider was to heavy for an OLYII. I built a center section for the hevy wing to fit it to the OLYII pod and boom set up. I assume the longer tail boom and much larger vertical would reduce the yaw issues. The additional nose wt made the glider even heavy. The high inertia glider has SD8040 10% airfoil and 113 inch span. I had purchased the wing at a swap meet. The low inertia glider has a AG24 9.2% airfoil and 120 inch span.

Now I assume the the high inertia glider would handle turbulent air better than the low inertia glider. It would not respond the turbulence than the low inertia glider. The make reading thermal harder.