HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:55 AM
United States, NJ, Roxbury Township
Joined Jun 2012
20 Posts
Yippee!
Got my Trainer running

I have this OS40 Max FP engine on a trainer from the 90's. Got it from a friend who's dad didn't have time for it anymore since hes crashed it years ago. So I decided I'd take it and get it running. The carburetor was locked up but luckily I finally got the slide freed and got all the gunk cleaned out and now it works great. I can get it started for about 3 seconds but it will die. When I prime the engine, I see the fuel running up the line, but as soon as I take my finger off of the exhaust, fuel will drain back down the line. I cannot for the life of me figure this out! Please help, I am very new to this hobby but I am very familiar with 2 stroke engines and I understand carburetion completely, but I cannot figure out why the fuel drains back out after I prime. I've searched for threads on the problem but I cant find anything. I tried adjusting the high end and low end needles and I referenced a thread on here for trying to get an engine started....

Thanks to anyone that helps!

- Adam

EDIT: Finally got it running, scroll down vvvvv
ahan3793 is offline Find More Posts by ahan3793
Last edited by ahan3793; Jun 21, 2012 at 09:30 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 21, 2012, 09:09 AM
Joined Jun 2012
20 Posts
Figured it out! !!!!! Got it running!
Old Jun 21, 2012, 09:11 AM
Joined Jun 2012
20 Posts
Still need to adjust the high speed needle valve but its running!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNAQh...ature=youtu.be
Old Jun 21, 2012, 09:27 AM
Joined Jun 2012
20 Posts
Tuned it, now the high speed needle is in the proper position and its almost ready to fly. Need to re-monokote the wing, get a battery for the receiver and I need to find a 4 channel AM transmitter
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCiXwsdnNN4
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:05 AM
LaGrange, GA
Joined Jun 2009
1,749 Posts