HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 13, 2014, 08:17 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
2,247 Posts
Discussion
Variable triac?

I got an email from STmicro about this : http://www.st.com/st-web-ui/static/a...DM00084356.pdf
I had never heard of triacs before and I was thinking about using one for my hot wire cutter. Is it possible to use these to vary/ limit the current or voltage?
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 13, 2014, 08:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
362 Posts
i don't think to Driver it easy. i often see it in circuits high volt AC .
John michel is offline Find More Posts by John michel
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2014, 09:29 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
2,247 Posts
So it's basically just a relay? The only thing I'm thinking is possibly a PWM driver, but that would increase complexity beyond what could be obtained by other methods.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 02:20 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,258 Posts
Triacs have been used in AC dimmers for many years. But they are indeed switches not linear devices if that's what you're asking. So some form of PWM is needed.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 06:07 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,169 Posts
Foam Cutting Power Supply
Quote:
The circuit is a simple AC Triac voltage control circuit similar to the ones used to control house lamps. The transformer provides the electrical isolation the makes this item safe to operate.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 07:56 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
2,247 Posts
Interesting, I didn't think triacs took an analog voltage.
Is that a junction between C1 R2 and R3?
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 08:47 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boaterguy View Post
Is that a junction between C1 R2 and R3?
Yes.

The Triac triggers when its gate voltage goes over about 1.1~1.4V. The purpose of the capacitor and pot are to delay triggering of the Triac until later in each half of the mains cycle. Varying the pot's resistance changes how fast the capacitor is charged up, providing a varying conduction angle which controls the rms output voltage.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 09:48 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
2,247 Posts
I never would have come up with that. Thanks a ton!
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Variable rate 1S lipo chrages jl1252 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Sep 24, 2013 07:49 PM
Discussion Any kits for PWM/variably duty cycle ZX triac contollers? stumax DIY Electronics 5 Mar 20, 2011 11:52 PM
Help! Triac triggering circuit needed. With component values. cyclops2 DIY Electronics 7 Feb 02, 2011 09:13 AM
Discussion Isolated tab triacs Discharger DIY Electronics 0 Mar 15, 2007 01:01 AM
Triac 400 VAC 6 amp sources???? mrbaseballny DIY Electronics 2 Nov 05, 2004 03:41 PM