Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 21, 2011, 06:51 PM
Coventry. England.
Joined Jan 2011
15 Posts
Help!
Wasp V4 250 Belt main gear replacement.

Hi all, newbie here. Ive got the Wasp and I have to say its a beautiful machine. Unfortunately it has a stripped main gear. I have a replacement but just wondering if its a job for a noob. I'm pretty competant but I'm not sure how much I have to remove. I assume that once I release the bottom of the drive shaft and lift it, the gear will be able to be removed but what about the swash plate. Do i take this all off or no. Any detailed info will help me to get this machine running. Many thanks in advance.
vandino is offline Find More Posts by vandino
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2011, 01:08 AM
United States, MI, Auburn Hills
Joined Dec 2008
833 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandino View Post
Hi all, newbie here. Ive got the Wasp and I have to say its a beautiful machine. Unfortunately it has a stripped main gear. I have a replacement but just wondering if its a job for a noob. I'm pretty competant but I'm not sure how much I have to remove. I assume that once I release the bottom of the drive shaft and lift it, the gear will be able to be removed but what about the swash plate. Do i take this all off or no. Any detailed info will help me to get this machine running. Many thanks in advance.
First have a piece of masking tape ready. Ujnder the main gear, holding the main shaft down is a collar. This collar has a screw through it and the shaft. Using a sharpie put a dot on the side of the collar that the threaded end of the screw protrudes from. The other side has a hole for the screw that is not threaded.

Disconnect all of the servo connectors AT the ball link end; not the servo end; leave servo arms in place on the servo. Unscrew the two inner screws that hold the rear swashplate arm. loosen the other screws enough to tilt this holder back out of the way.