HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 12, 2012, 09:19 PM
Joined Nov 2004
16 Posts
Discussion
New to the hobby, need some advice

Hello everyone!

I am interested in purchasing my first rc sailing yacht, but I wanted some advice first!

I am not new to the rc hobbies (helis, planes) but I am new to boating. There are a few models I am considering but they all seem to require radio electronics which are not included.

I am "ok" with that seeing as how I own a dx6i. My only problem is I am now concerned about which receiver I should use to go along with it as well as a "receiver battery" which I'm not entirely sure about. There are so many different ones (and counterfeits) I'd hate to invest in the wrong products.

I look forward to your suggestions and can't wait to get started!

Also: which models would you recommend nowadays? There are some REAL cheap ones over at hobbyking, but I'm trying my best to avoid them as seeing the reviews are very up and down in regards to their longevity and performance. I'm not really too interested in racing, just looking into a great boat for a nice day.
danielwow12 is offline Find More Posts by danielwow12
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2012, 09:43 PM
Chicago , Illinois
Joined Jul 2008
878 Posts
Hi Daniel
I can start the ball rolling on one topic - since your already using Spektrum
technology your golden - if you want a dedicated RX for a sailboat all you really
need is one of those "orange" generic ones- very little chance you will run out
of range - just keep the antenna up under the deck as best you can, and
oriented with the bow/stern of the yacht.
batteries will be a interesting topic - as you already have a charger and RX
packs, we just need to see do you have anything "in stock" that will have the
MA's to give enough run time - and if you just cruising around for laughs maybe
that don't even matter ? when we race, my boat can be powered up for like 4