HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 25, 2014, 04:33 PM
Funtimegrandpa
United States, SC, Moore
Joined Jan 2014
129 Posts
Discussion
Small GPS Tracker

I have been using a GPS Tracker on my Multi-Rotors with a lot of success. From time to time when it is out on a flight I will call the tracker to see if it is reporting back correctly. I know how difficult it was for me to figure out just what I needed, where to buy things and most of all not have a monthly fee.

I have put together a small video showing 2 of the trackers that have worked well and some how to guides. I will also be testing another very small tracker in the next few weeks. I am no expert on this so if I can not answer a question don't get upset. I just know how important it is to have some extra resources should you loose your Aircraft.

Nothing is fool proof, but it does give you one extra chance to hopefully find your equipment should it disappear out of sight. If the tracker reports back to you correctly you should be able to get within about 20 ft of where it is resting. I added a Bluetooth quarter size StickNfind tag on the side of my multi-rotor so when I do get close I can make it beep and make the final recovery!

Hope this helps some of you who worry as I do about loosing your Aircrafts. And please if you know of any other sites to post this, feel free to copy it over. Nothing worse than that sinking feeling when your controls don't work!

Grandpa Jake
GPS Trackers (9 min 36 sec)

Here are some instructions if the above link does not take you to my Funtimegrandpa grandpa jake site

Start out by going here http://prepaid-phones.t-mobile.com/pay-as-you-go-plans

This will show you the Pay As You Go plan. This is what you want.

Now at the top of the screen choose SHOP and select Bring You Own Device

Select the sim card to the left. That is the standard size card

You have a choice between Phone and Mobile Internet: Choose Phone