HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 06, 2014, 08:36 PM
Joined Jan 2014
18 Posts
Discussion
Help me trim my Sig Smith Miniplane

Hello, I recently test flew my newly built Smith Miniplane. To my surprise it was badly out of trim in the pitch axis, I had to apply all of the down trim just to maintain level flight. I have the CG set per the plans and zero degrees of thrust on the motor (converted to electric with an Eflight 46). Any ideas to help this problem? Someone in another thread suggested adding negitive incidence on the top wing or negitive incidence to the stab. If this is true I can manage the top wing adjustments but the stab is built into the plane and no adjustments can be made with out totaly reworking the rear of the fuse, something I am not easily willing to do since it is covered in Solortex and painted. Any suggestions? I am a seasoned kit builder with 40-50 builds but I'm no expert and have not experienced this problem before.
green river rc is offline Find More Posts by green river rc
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 06, 2014, 08:46 PM
United States, TX, Leander
Joined Sep 2003
2,660 Posts
A few of my bipes needed quite a bit of down trim to fly level. Negative 1.5deg on the top is good to have, helps lower the stall speed. You try some down thrust, about 2 or 3 deg to see if it helps some. Some positive 1.5 to 2 deg in the stab would definitely help, but might not be practical without a lot of hacking. You could just live with it. It's not like it's a 3D plane.
Edwin
edwin1 is offline Find More Posts by edwin1
Old Aug 06, 2014, 11:07 PM
Canada, ON, Hamilton
Joined Oct 2005
2,605 Posts
Reducing the positive wing incidence may help. Normally the top wing has more positive incidence than does the bottom wing. The result is that the top wing will stall out first, dropping the nose slightly, and then fly on the lower bottom wing.
Perhaps try reducing the incidence in both wings (lift the trailing edge up) by one or two degrees.