HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 08, 2012, 07:07 AM
Registered User
Algonquin, IL
Joined Jul 2006
9 Posts
Hey Guys,
Thanks for the input and great info.
Unfortunately, our winters are not all that short.
Thanks again,
TB
tab2ib is offline Find More Posts by tab2ib
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 10, 2012, 10:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
503 Posts
Hi All,

Has anyone installed a Hacker A60-6XS on this plane. I'm struggling with mounting the motor on the existing firewall.
I'd sincerely appreciate any assistance.

al
rossaer is offline Find More Posts by rossaer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:04 PM
daedalusrobert's Avatar
United States, GA, Valdosta
Joined Jan 2009
608 Posts
1/7th scale motor and 2.5" spinner arrived today!
daedalusrobert is offline Find More Posts by daedalusrobert
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 04:22 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,097 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossaer View Post
Hi All,

Has anyone installed a Hacker A60-6XS on this plane. I'm struggling with mounting the motor on the existing firewall.
I'd sincerely appreciate any assistance.

al
What kind of problem are you having?

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 05:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
503 Posts
Hey Steve,
The holes in the supplied motor mount from Hacker do not line up with the already drilled holes in the firewall. Also the installed Blind Nuts are mounted on a little round piece of wood and they are well and truly adhered to the back of the firewall. I have tried to knock them off but I'm fearful of damaging the firewall if I apply too much pressure.
Without being able to remove the Blind Nuts there is no flat surface to redrill and attach new Blind Nuts. I tried fabricating an "overlay" firewall to place on top of the original one and drill new holes in it to mount the motor and then use the exisiting Blind Nuts to mount the overlay firewall to the original firewall. But then I ran into the problem of there not being enough clearence for the mounting screws to not hit the motor when trying to screw it all together.
I'm not clever enough to get past this on my own unless I have an "ahh hah" moment.
I think I just may go with the recommended motor or Hacker equal. I know a Hacker A50-12 mounting holes will line up.
Any suggestions?
al
rossaer is offline Find More Posts by rossaer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 05:12 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,097 Posts
Removing a blind nut is normally fairly easy....first, screw a bolt into the blind nut, then use a soldering iron to heat the screw/blind nut up to soften the adhesive holding the nut in. Then quickly tap it with a small hammer and it should come right out. Once you get the blind nut out, then use acetone or CA debonder (the best debonder made is Golden West "Super Solvent" to remove the doublers on the back of the firewall.

If you like you can plug the holes then re-drill or just re-drill the holes in the appropriate place. If you need to, and have the room, you can also rotate the mount, so that the holes are not as close to the original holes.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 06:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
503 Posts
Hi Steve,

I'll give the Soldering Iron method a try. If I can get the existing blind nuts and the little round doublers off of the back of the firewall I think i would be able to work out the motor mounting after that. There are enough holes already in the exisiting firewall to make me concerned about integrity should I drill too many more holes in the thing.
Thanks for the tips!!!

al
rossaer is offline Find More Posts by rossaer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 07:10 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,097 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossaer View Post
Hi Steve,

I'll give the Soldering Iron method a try. If I can get the existing blind nuts and the little round doublers off of the back of the firewall I think i would be able to work out the motor mounting after that. There are enough holes already in the exisiting firewall to make me concerned about integrity should I drill too many more holes in the thing.
Thanks for the tips!!!

al
No problem....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 06:02 AM
Registered User
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined May 2011
7 Posts
At the risk of being burned at the stake

At the risk of being burned at the stake:

Has anyone tried putting a nitro engine in this plane?

I love bi-planes and love four strokes. This plane seems like it would be a wonderful scale four stroker.

I am not looking for all out vertical fying so I am thinking a Saito 100 or Saito 125 ??
pat.curtin is offline Find More Posts by pat.curtin
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 06:12 AM
Registered User
Springfield, VA
Joined Feb 2000
1,192 Posts
My concern would be the airframe won't stand up to the vibration. A lot of reinforcment in a nitro model you don't normally find in a model built from the ground up to be electric...Pete M
pmisuinas is offline Find More Posts by pmisuinas
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 06:22 AM
Registered User
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined May 2011
7 Posts
Concern of mine also

I also a bit concern about the vibration. The other alternative is if I could fit it the it under the cowl, would be a magnum 160 twin on soft mounts. Very low vibration from that set up, but a extra pund of weight. However, considering the plane is built light that might work. Can you tell me what the inside diameter of the cowl is ?? thank you
pat.curtin is offline Find More Posts by pat.curtin
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 06:33 AM
Registered User
Springfield, VA
Joined Feb 2000
1,192 Posts
The cowl has an inside diameter of 8 5/8 inches. But if you have not seen the fuse motor area, you should realize you will probably have to completely rebuild the front end. Send me your email address in a pm and I will send you a picture of it so you can see what I mean...Pete M
pmisuinas is offline Find More Posts by pmisuinas
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 02:32 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,343 Posts
I think it would hold up fine. 3DHS has several gas/electric capable planes.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
1,579 Posts
It is very doable. Just cut the motor box off at the fuse and construct a new motor housing. Check out Pilot-RC for idea.

http://www.pilot-rc.com/Upload/30496376.JPG
chopper62 is offline Find More Posts by chopper62
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 07:57 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,097 Posts
If the paint on the cowling is anything like the paint on some 3DHS planes, it wouldn't take the alcohol in the fuel...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hyperion's New Emeter II & RDU NipponDave Power Systems 715 Jul 26, 2013 10:21 AM
Discussion Blu-Baby Aerial Photography Aircraft mark II Tony65x55 Aerial Photography 6 Aug 07, 2007 11:46 AM
Hyperion CAP232 - aircraft-world.com Smifta Sport Planes 144 Dec 16, 2006 11:12 AM
Sold Samson II vett Boats (FS/W) 3 May 11, 2006 11:12 AM
Mystery Aircraft Vol II Sabrejock Scale Kit/Scratch Built 1 Apr 13, 2004 05:11 PM