HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 10, 2003, 05:28 AM
UK
Joined Dec 2002
206 Posts
Bad Wind ??

Hi,

I have a speed 400 glider, and have started flying at a local public field, and seem to encounter some strange air conditions...... as I'm not that experienced so I thought I would ask the pro's !

I have flown on evenings where there is no wind, the field LHS has a row of tall pine trees, the RHS has small trees in a hedgerow. The LHS to RHS width is about 300 yards and the field is about .3 mile long. The eglider launches and makes a steady climb fine, at about a ht of 50 ft in the middle of the field, the plane makes a sudden spiral dive, or is blown down. Not quite sure whether it recovers naturally or whether its me, but it normally recovers about 10ft off the ground ! This has happened evey night I have been there, about 5 times in the last 2 months. Its like there is a vacuum there and all normal rules of flight are meaningless !!

Once I get higher, you get the normal minor surges and drops but its fine and predicatable. I seem to be restricted to climbing in circles avoiding this area. The field is flat and the trees and hedging are consistent, so I'm at a loss as to what is causing this, any ideas ?

Thanks

Nick
nickthefarrow is offline Find More Posts by nickthefarrow
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2003, 05:37 AM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,705 Posts
It may be simply that you stall it after takeoff.

It may also be a downdraught caused by thw trees.

I can always find an updraught over a bank of trees where I fly.

Wind is funny stuff. I launched a model once, nice steady straight climbout. Got to be about 30 feet up and SNAP the wings folded. Now they were weak, but I was not doing anything on the sticks. I can only believe it was some massive turbulence.
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Old Sep 10, 2003, 07:35 AM
Providence, RI
Joined May 2001
380 Posts