HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 27, 2010, 05:59 AM
Registered HotGlue Addict
chaosMurphy's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,479 Posts
Iím excited
Hardware coming very soon
chaosMurphy is offline Find More Posts by chaosMurphy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2010, 09:46 AM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Can I get some of you guys to try this test with your ArduShield? I wondering if this is a soldering problem on my end or if we need to add some more wires to the shield...

You'll need your ArduShield, ArduPilot and a multi-meter where you can test continuity (Ohms). Plug your shield into your pilot and then touch one probe to the purple connection on source 2 and then touch all the other purple and red connections.

Then touch the cyan circle on source 2 and touch all the other cyan and yellow connections. Please post your results like those shown below:

From Source 2 - Purple to:
Source 1 - Purple - Good Connection
#1 - Red - No Connection
#2 - Red - No Connection
#3 - Red - No Connection

From Source 2 - Cyan to:
Source 1 - Cyan - Good Connection
#1 - Yellow - Good Connection
#2 - Yellow - No Connection
#3 - Yellow - Good Connection

HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 27, 2010, 12:17 PM
Registered User
S. Wales
Joined Jun 2008
450 Posts
Have you decided whether the shield is actually needed for the AP?
Jon
jon davies is offline Find More Posts by jon davies
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2010, 12:23 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon davies View Post
Have you decided whether the shield is actually needed for the AP?
Jon
No, but I believe the code makes use of the pressure sensor to determine throttle. Without it, the ArduPilot would just have to use a fixed throttle setting. So "needed", no. Preferable, I think so.... I'll find out in Step 4....

I'm hoping to get step 2 posted today.
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 27, 2010, 12:42 PM
T.ing to put on air 100 models
chiloschista's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Feb 2008
696 Posts
Hi HK,

here are my results.

Ardupilot with V2 shield: I confirm your readings, but

Ardupilot with V1 shield:

From Source 2 - Purple to:
Source 1 - Purple - Good Connection
#1 - Red - Good Connection
#2 - Red - Good Connection
#3 - Red - Good Connection

From Source 2 - Cyan to:
Source 1 - Cyan - Good Connection
#1 - Yellow - Good Connection
#2 - Yellow - No Connection
#3 - Yellow - Good Connection

Strange is that on V1, 5V GPS connector has TX-RX-5V-Gnd, instead of V2 IN-OUT-5V-Gnd.
3V GPS connector has RX-TX-3V-Gnd, that match with V2 IN-OUT-3V-Gnd.

Don't know if this could be of interest, but it sounds a little strange to me.

Hope this will help a little,

chilo
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKillmore View Post
Can I get some of you guys to try this test with your ArduShield? I wondering if this is a soldering problem on my end or if we need to add some more wires to the shield...

You'll need your ArduShield, ArduPilot and a multi-meter where you can test continuity (Ohms). Plug your shield into your pilot and then touch one probe to the purple connection on source 2 and then touch all the other purple and red connections.

Then touch the cyan circle on source 2 and touch all the other cyan and yellow connections. Please post your results like those shown below:

From Source 2 - Purple to:
Source 1 - Purple - Good Connection
#1 - Red - No Connection
#2 - Red - No Connection
#3 - Red - No Connection

From Source 2 - Cyan to:
Source 1 - Cyan - Good Connection
#1 - Yellow - Good Connection
#2 - Yellow - No Connection
#3 - Yellow - Good Connection

chiloschista is offline Find More Posts by chiloschista
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2010, 01:12 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Thanks! My V1 readings are the same as yours

From Source 2 - Purple to:
Source 1 - Purple - Good Connection
#1 - Red - Good Connection
#2 - Red - Good Connection
#3 - Red - Good Connection

From Source 2 - Cyan to:
Source 1 - Cyan - Good Connection
#1 - Yellow - Good Connection
#2 - Yellow - No Connection
#3 - Yellow - Good Connection

I'm working on my step 2 instructions right now. I have figured out a solution to the GPS lock problem with the V2 shield. If you jumper the source 2 purple to the #2 red it goes solid and locks no problems. I put a detachable connector on it to confirm and sure enough. When it's connected, lock, disconnected, no lock.
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 27, 2010, 06:44 PM
GRAVITY SUCKS
Australia, WA, Perth
Joined Apr 2010
31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewBurns View Post
I have all of the things needed and I'm very interested in getting this working

Is the ublox GPS recommended by Ardupilot better than the one included with remzibi? Could somebody make a revision to the remzibi firmware to allow it to use the ublox protocol.

Will there be a firmware revision in the future to provide an artificial horizon? If Ardupilot is feeding in data from the IMU the roll and pitch angles would be available to the OSD and I'd love an artificial horizon option.
HappyK
Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that Remzibi did release a firmware set with artificial horizon already.
johann123 is offline Find More Posts by johann123
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2010, 06:51 PM
KC9TPL- Get Legit
BloomingtonFPV's Avatar
USA, IN, Bloomington
Joined Aug 2007
840 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKillmore View Post
The ArduShield "Kit" includes a Pitot Tube, the wiring between the shield and the sensors (we don't need that) and a toggle switch (which I have not used so far).
Can we source the pitot tube elsewhere if we don't need the rest? Seems like an expensive $20 tube... Is there anything special about the rest of the kit?
BloomingtonFPV is offline Find More Posts by BloomingtonFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2010, 07:51 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann123 View Post
HappyK
Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that Remzibi did release a firmware set with artificial horizon already.
Yes, the issue is my config software doesn't really allow you to place it on the screen (yet). The firmware is called "Ardu" and although Remzibi is ready, my stuff is still a work in progress. It's going to be part of my work on step 5 of this thread (and provide me the motivation to get it done!!!!)
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 27, 2010, 07:55 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloomingtonFPV View Post
Can we source the pitot tube elsewhere if we don't need the rest? Seems like an expensive $20 tube... Is there anything special about the rest of the kit?
Most of the shield is unnecessary when you add the ArduIMU. It's nice that the shield has a "break-out" and power for both 5V and 3.3V GPS's but that won't be necessary after step 3 of this thread. Which is a revelation I just had while cutting the grass. Step 2 is purely academic....step 3 will make step 2 unnecessary.

To the best of my knowledge, the shield allows connections for thermopiles (not used with ArduIMU), connections for GPS's (not used with ArduIMU) and a MPXV5004DP pressure sensor. You're right, it seems like it would make more sense to just use that sensor instead!?!?
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 28, 2010, 01:59 AM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloomingtonFPV View Post
Can we source the pitot tube elsewhere if we don't need the rest? Seems like an expensive $20 tube... Is there anything special about the rest of the kit?
This might be the better solution: http://store.diydrones.com/product_p/br-0004-02.htm along with this http://store.diydrones.com/product_p/ac-0001-02.htm
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 28, 2010, 07:21 AM
KC9TPL- Get Legit
BloomingtonFPV's Avatar
USA, IN, Bloomington
Joined Aug 2007
840 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyKillmore View Post
Note: see post 63 for an in-stock solution.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...5&postcount=63

This one for the true do-it-yourselfers:

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...DP&FV=fffc0177

Datasheet:
http://www.freescale.com/files/senso.../MPXV5004G.pdf

Page 2 has the resistors and capacitors:
http://www.freescale.com/files/senso...ote/AN1646.pdf
BloomingtonFPV is offline Find More Posts by BloomingtonFPV
Last edited by BloomingtonFPV; May 01, 2010 at 03:50 PM. Reason: added second datasheet; link to current source
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2010, 04:03 PM
crashology student
Ontario, Canada
Joined May 2008
116 Posts
I'm attempting this project as well - shield, IMU, and Official cable on the way. Step1 went well up to the last paragraph ... attaching the Remzizi GPS. I get only a flashing blue and if I use Hyper Terminal I see a data stream but get the "no GPS for 20s". Turning down the servo tester does give "stabilization" prompts for a line or two - but no solid blue, even after 20 minutes.
I moved the GPS to the Remzibi OSD and saw (on TV) the lock on 4 satellites - so the GPS is OK (I am using the white-blue wires correctly).
Any suggestions? Any continuity to check from the 4 GPS pins?
rshep is offline Find More Posts by rshep
Last edited by rshep; Apr 28, 2010 at 04:38 PM. Reason: cable coming (using Sparkfun)
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2010, 05:43 PM
Suspended Account
Brunswick, OH
Joined Nov 2005
5,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rshep View Post
I'm attempting this project as well - shield, IMU, and Official cable on the way. Step1 went well up to the last paragraph ... attaching the Remzizi GPS. I get only a flashing blue and if I use Hyper Terminal I see a data stream but get the "no GPS for 20s". Turning down the servo tester does give "stabilization" prompts for a line or two - but no solid blue, even after 20 minutes.
I moved the GPS to the Remzibi OSD and saw (on TV) the lock on 4 satellites - so the GPS is OK (I am using the white-blue wires correctly).
Any suggestions? Any continuity to check from the 4 GPS pins?
rshep, I think I forgot something!!!

When you power up your OSD what baud rate does it say your GPS is using? It's going to be 9600 or 38,400...

Edit your GPS_NMEA tab

Code:
void init_gps(void)
{
	Serial.begin(9600);
	delay(1000);
	//Serial.print(LOCOSYS_BAUD_RATE_38400);
	//Serial.begin(THIRTY_EIGHT_K_BAUD);
	//delay(500);
	Serial.print(NMEA_OUTPUT_1HZ);
	delay(500);
	Serial.print("$PMTK220,1000*5F\r\n");
	delay(500);
	Serial.print(SBAS_OFF);
Also edit your ArduPilot_2_6 tab

Code:
void setup() {
	#if GPS_PROTOCOL == 0
		Serial.begin(9600);
	#endif
	#if GPS_PROTOCOL == 1
		Serial.begin(FIFTY_SEVEN_K_BAUD);
	#endif
	#if GPS_PROTOCOL == 2
		Serial.begin(THIRTY_EIGHT_K_BAUD);
	#endif
	#if GPS_PROTOCOL == 3
		Serial.begin(THIRTY_EIGHT_K_BAUD);
	#endif
	#if GPS_PROTOCOL == 5
		Serial.begin(THIRTY_EIGHT_K_BAUD);
	#endif
	
	init_ardupilot();
}
Tell me if this works. Please don't try a higher output rate right now. At 9600 baud there might be a problem with faster rates.
HappyKillmore is offline Find More Posts by HappyKillmore
Last edited by HappyKillmore; Apr 28, 2010 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 28, 2010, 05:55 PM
crashology student
Ontario, Canada
Joined May 2008
116 Posts
Happy - "GPS detected 9600"
rshep is offline Find More Posts by rshep
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Remzibi OSD (Poor Man's OSD) integration with ArduPilot HappyKillmore FPV Talk 542 Dec 26, 2013 09:08 AM
Video REmzibi OSD current sensor test mmormota Electric Plane Talk 7 Oct 10, 2009 11:13 AM
Video Fasst dropout test with Remzibi OSD mmormota Electric Plane Talk 0 May 29, 2009 12:48 PM
Discussion Getting "waiting for GPS data" on Dragon OSD Vaportech FPV Talk 9 Aug 18, 2008 11:58 AM