HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2014, 06:51 AM
Fly it or get rid of it
JRAllen's Avatar
United States, NC, Reidsville
Joined Oct 2005
145 Posts
Discussion
12ft Telemaster Kit Built

I just finished my electric conversion on my Telemaster. I am running the Rimfire 65cc with a YEP 120HV ESC on 12s. I am sure I will not need no more than 1/4-1/2 throttle flying this around. My question is; I am trying to figure out a prop. I currently have a 22x8 but I am only getting 1800 watts at 42amps. I need at least 2500-3000 watts to have a good flyer.

What Prop do you recommend?

Thanks,
Jamie
JRAllen is offline Find More Posts by JRAllen
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 15, 2014, 03:09 PM
The 6 P principle works for me
elecfryer's Avatar
Ventura CA
Joined Aug 2007
977 Posts
May not be a prop problem. What are your settings on your esc?
elecfryer is offline Find More Posts by elecfryer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2014, 05:41 PM
Fly it or get rid of it
JRAllen's Avatar
United States, NC, Reidsville
Joined Oct 2005
145 Posts
Stock Settings
JRAllen is offline Find More Posts by JRAllen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2014, 01:23 PM
what the...
minitelemaster's Avatar
Joined May 2007
263 Posts
This guy is reporting 4500 watts on a 26x12: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1225415

I'd imagine any prop in the 24-26 diameter range would do it for you. I believe he tests more props throughout the thread if you want more info.
minitelemaster is offline Find More Posts by minitelemaster
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2014, 11:01 AM
Product Manager at Hobbico
GWRIGHT's Avatar
United States
Joined May 2000
5,163 Posts
Using a rimfire 65CC on 12S in a pitts (the one GP sold a few years ago for 50~60CC gas). Using a 26X10 Xoar and it's roughly 100 amps. I say roughly, as it varies several amps depending on which batteries I use since I have multiple 12S packs of varying age and IR. i haven't weighed the plane but it's got to be 20ish lbs and it will pull out of hover with that prop pretty easily. For your telemaster, something like a 24X10or 24X12 should work great. I've experimented with props on this system from 23 up to 27 inches in various pitches from 8 to 12. A friend has this setup on a few of the 50CC warbirds at 23~25 lbs using a 23X10 and they "go" very well for warbirds although they're pretty much loafing and not working with that little prop.
GWRIGHT is offline Find More Posts by GWRIGHT
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2014, 07:10 AM
Fly it or get rid of it
JRAllen's Avatar
United States, NC, Reidsville
Joined Oct 2005
145 Posts
I've gotten a 24x12 APC and put on there. With the WATT meter on 12s packs is showing only 2500 watts at 56 amps? It just sounded like it was a little low for this motor.

Thanks for the responses....... still a work in progress.
JRAllen is offline Find More Posts by JRAllen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2014, 03:37 PM
what the...
minitelemaster's Avatar
Joined May 2007
263 Posts
Do you have a way to measure the rpm? That could shed more light on the issue.
minitelemaster is offline Find More Posts by minitelemaster
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2014, 07:42 PM
Fly it or get rid of it
JRAllen's Avatar
United States, NC, Reidsville
Joined Oct 2005
145 Posts
No way to check RPM, I am running a HK YEP 120HV ESC. I have it set for Auto Timing. Do any of you know the correct timing on this setup?
JRAllen is offline Find More Posts by JRAllen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2014, 09:08 AM
Product Manager at Hobbico
GWRIGHT's Avatar
United States
Joined May 2000
5,163 Posts
You can't really say a specific timing is right or wrong, too many variables, and everyones needs and desires are different. However, generally the high pole count motors need the timing increased or the ESC will get out of sync with the motor and not commutate correctly. That's when you hear the stuttering, screaching, or the motor simply quits. Higher loads require higher timings too. I know when I was playing with props on this motor a couple months ago i kept increasing timing as i increased prop size and I know i passed 20 degrees at one point. Not sure what the max is in castle link on the 160 edge controller, but I'm probably there. If you increase timing above what is needed for correct commutation then you increase rpms, usually increase heat a bit, and of course increase current consumption. If you drop timing the reverse happens, untill you possibly hit the screaching/stuttering point. If I have a setup that needs just a teeny bit more power but no room for more prop I'll increase timing a few ticks.If I have more power than I really need, I'll tweak timing down and monitor temps to see when they plateau and don't decrease anymore, and leave it there.
GWRIGHT is offline Find More Posts by GWRIGHT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale WTS/ WTT New 12' Telemaster Kit built with servos and Zenoah 38 goldwinger Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Oct 30, 2014 01:54 PM
Wanted 12ft Telemaster ARF or built dzwiss Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Feb 25, 2014 11:02 PM
Sold Seinor Telemaster 1600. kit built. $400 charlieoneseven Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jan 22, 2014 05:41 PM
Sold Giant 12ft Telemaster Kit NIB JRAllen Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Jul 01, 2012 10:31 PM
Sold NIB 12ft Giant Telemaster Kit JRAllen Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jul 01, 2012 09:21 PM