Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:20 AM
Joined May 2012
46 Posts
Discussion
New

So i received this engine for Christmas.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...engine-ZENEP62

I am looking for a plane, I have been looking and I found these 2 that I really like.

http://www.arfpros.com/ESM-DHC-2-Bea...AVER-95AAF.htm

http://www.sdshobby.net/new-pitts-s1...c#.UN771uTAd8E

I have been flying for about 2 years. At this point I have flown all top wing aircraft. I have 2 glow planes, a cub and a Cessna. My question is would the biplane be too much of a jump? I have always wanted a biplane, so that is my first choice.
dearjhn is offline Find More Posts by dearjhn
Last edited by dearjhn; Dec 29, 2012 at 08:30 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:46 AM
United States, NY, Eldred
Joined Jun 2012
520 Posts
Without knowing your actual flying skill level, it would be hard to say. Bipes can be an animal all their own. Especially since you're looking at the pitts. It has a short tail moment and can be quite snappy. More of an Aerobatic plane than a sport flyer. Also, many bipes need to be flown all the way to the ground on landing, not like a cub that floats and practically lands itself. Also, bipes have no self correcting tendencies like that of a high wing with dihedral. Not trying to discourage you, just giving a heads up and some pointers. I personally started flying an ultimate with no problems after 200 flights with trainers and low wingers. Good luck with your choice... bipes are awesome!!!
kimchiyuk is offline Find More Posts by kimchiyuk
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:20 AM
Joined May 2012
46 Posts
Thank you for your honesty. My first plane was a corsair that a local hobby store told me would be a great beginner plane, well that didn't end very well. Well maybe I should get a low winger, I have time to figure it out.
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:25 AM
texas
Joined Jul 2009
199 Posts