SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 31, 2010, 07:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
gobigkahuna,

You need to connect Vcc to 3.3V or the compass will not have any power.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 31, 2010, 08:05 PM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
So the pin marked "3V3" on the DOSD+ supplies 3.3 vdc, right?
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 08:05 PM
Registered User
plesk's Avatar
Malaysia
Joined Apr 2006
187 Posts
Order mine yesterday... now waiting it to arrived...
It a long trips to M'sia
plesk is offline Find More Posts by plesk
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 11:19 PM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,250 Posts
daniel..
ok so got everything wired up.. minus the current sensor and gps as they are still on route from usa.. able to see my video from the cam, when the dosd+ is powered.. i get a quick flash a split second (i'm assuming its the menu screen) then the battery voltage is show on the top corner.. i cannot get the on screen menu to appear...even assigned ch.5, on a 3way switch "e" (the only 3way switch in futaba 7c).. i'm sure i'm getting PPM signal on my hitec6 rx, cuz when i turn off the transmitter (Fut 7c) the servos would move back and forth..goin to failsafe getting signal from the Dosd+..

?or do i need the CS and GPS for the on screen to appear?
barok is online now Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 11:29 PM
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Canada, BC, Duncan
Joined Dec 2006
3,621 Posts
Hey Barok,

Flick the switch and turn down your end points until the menu comes on (60-65?). Then turn it down a notch or two afterwards. You are getting close my friend... so close!!!
JMSTECH is offline Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 11:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
barok,

You need to configure the switch for channel-5. Not any value will trigger the menu - only specific settings. The DOSD+ will respond to 4 discrete levels on the control channel (channel-5 in your case). Depending on what the particular value of this control channel, the DOSD+ will go into one of 4 different modes:-

1. Normal operating mode
2. Menu mode
3. Autopilot mode (will only activate if GPS home position is set)
4. No display mode (OSD still operating)

You can read more about all of this here:-
http://forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic.php...=70&p=747#p747

gobigkahuna,

That is correct - the pin marked 3V3 (and several others like it on the board) supply 3.3V. Do not connect any external power supply to this pin or you could blow the regulator.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Last edited by Daniel Wee; Apr 01, 2010 at 12:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:20 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,250 Posts
hi john.. ok got that..thanks..
now when i select a setting in the menu.. the menu doubles the display
barok is online now Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
barok,

What do you mean by "doubles the display"?

Also, what version of firmware are you using?

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:25 AM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
Got it, thanks Daniel!
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:41 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
barok,

What do you mean by "doubles the display"?

Also, what version of firmware are you using?

Daniel
hi daniel.. took some pics
pic1- when i turn it on the ch.5
pic2- normal after i move ail and ele stick
pic3- after selecting a task..

can't find what version.. assuming its the latest..
barok is online now Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
Can you check your video input connections to make sure they are not shorted or anything? What kind of camera are you using? It looks like there may be a bad connection somewhere.

1. Check that the camera, the OSD and the receiver all have ground wires connected appropriately.
2. Check that there are no inadvertent shorting of wiires
3. How are you powering the the OSD? If you are powering it from the receiver - try powering it from a battery first.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Last edited by Daniel Wee; Apr 01, 2010 at 12:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:47 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,250 Posts
using a cmos cam.. called the "ccd killer"
http://www.nghobbies.com/cart/index....roducts_id=349

no shorting..
barok is online now Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:48 AM
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Canada, BC, Duncan
Joined Dec 2006
3,621 Posts
barok is using version 4.3... he could update to 4.7 but it's no big issue.
JMSTECH is offline Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2005
4,093 Posts
barok,

Can you describe your connects, preferably with a clear photograph. In particular, how is the DOSD+ powered. Be sure that the camera ground is connected to the DOSD+ ground and is also connected to the video transmitter ground (or the RCA ground if you are using it). All the grounds of all the devices needs to be connected. I don't think your problem is related to the firmware revisions.

Daniel
Daniel Wee is offline Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Last edited by Daniel Wee; Apr 01, 2010 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2010, 12:51 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,250 Posts
john.. will do that update when i receive the usb prog. dongle along with the gps and c sensor from sparkfun...
barok is online now Find More Posts by barok
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM