HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 21, 2012, 04:31 PM
Joined Jul 2012
29 Posts
Discussion
Sea Trial Success for Lindy PT-109

Hey Guys...after suffering the torments of the damned trying to get my 1/32 Lindy PT-109 running like a PT should...and finally throwing out the entire geared set-up it came with (made of PLASTIC for cryin' out loud) in favor of a twin-motor, direct-drive arrangement with steel couplings and counter-rotating brass tri-blade props....she finally had her sea trials at Lake Balboa this morning.

Although I'm still a green rookie at this, I know there's a difference between running well on the workbench and running well in the water! So although on the bench, she did great, I held my breath as I shoved her away from the lake shore and opened her throttle a nudge.

At very slow speed, she was surprisingly responsive to the helm...and as I gradually eased her throttle forward, she began to plane beautifully...in fact, TOO beautifully...a full 50% of her hull raised clear of the water and would you believe a friggin' ROOSTERTAIL?!?!?!

I swear....a Lindy PT kit model throwin' a ROOSTERTAIL! That was the LAST thing I had been expecting to see.

After re-positioning the battery further forward, that problem was solved. She sets in the water with the surface EXACTLY at the waterline, and at speed, a good third of her hull planes between 20 and 30 degrees, depending on how gentle I am with the throttle. But she still tosses a bit of roostertail...which I like....and I'm thinking it must be the Dumas props.

Yeah...I know....REAL PT's never kicked up roostertails....and you know what...I don't care. I like it, so it's staying.

Here's the cool part...literally.....after her longest run, the motors were warm, but not hot. The battery was warm, but not hot. The ESC was very warm, but not so much that it couldn't be touched. Not even close to that. The wires were actually cool to the touch, not even warm.