Old Dec 14, 2014, 02:39 PM
Find More Posts by Thebigred1
The Netherlands, OV, Balkbrug
Joined May 2012
129 Posts
Build Log
Fokker F.XX 1:12

Hi all,

I`ve been keeping myself busy for the last 3 years with something and I`m finally coming out with it: I am building, well, am trying to build a Fokker F.XX.

Due to circumstances, progress is slow. And because although I`ve been flying for a couple of years, I never have built, let alone scratch built a pretty difficult airplane out of balsa doesn`t make things fo fast either.
A lot of people told me not to do it, because of my lack of experience, and that it is to hard, but that only fuels my determination to make a scale aircraft that flies well and will make their jaws drop...

So, and problably because, I`ve been to school as an aircraft maintenance technician I know very well how an aircraft works and flies. And defenatly should not rush things, I want to make a good flying aircraft, and when you don`t have all the knowledge, take it easy and think twice, or more....
Or just ask...I am very thankful that I already had some very useful help with the design of the wing. And here on the forum about LG retraction.

That being said;
Fokker F.XX specs:
Span: 2m14, (84")
Length: 1m40, (55")
Propusion: Electric,
Scale: as much as possible while keeping the weight in mind,
Estimated weight: max. 6kg. (13 lbs)

Original F.XX:
http://http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fokker_F.XX

The info I have about the F.XX, comes from a Dutch museum named "the Aviodrome" they were very helpful of showing me scanned drawings of the original F.XX.
I also managed to get a couple of drawings of a 1:30 static model, but they have a couple of faults in it.
And ofcourse the good ol` interweb also helped a lot.

I`m not good in 3D drawing but did manage to draw someting in the "Paint" of 3D drawing: Sketchup! This helps me with getting a better view of the steel-tubed airframe and how it all fits together.