Old Dec 24, 2015, 09:36 PM
Find More Posts by B_Honeydew
Joined Dec 2014
4 Posts
Build Log
First Scratch Build - 1:20 Art of Kinetik Hedonist - modern wood motor yacht

Hello everyone,

Sorry - brief intro. This is my first attempt at building a boat, much less a scratch-built one. I have built lots of planes before and a few scratch builds, so I am hoping that some of that know-how will carryover to boats.
I have been working on the build for several months now, so I am behind on the blog. With work and kids, time at the shipyard is limited, so I spend as much as I can building - not so much blogging. Now with Christmas Eve at hand, and the Admiral commandeering the shipyard for wrapping presents, I am left with a gin-and-tonic and this blog to keep me busy.
The model is a 1:20 scale version of a boat called the "Hedonist Hardtop" built by a Serbian company called "Art of Kinetik". At 1:20, it will be just about 1 meter long. The design is pretty modern, which generally makes it a love it or hate it kinda thing. I am somewhere in the middle - some areas are great (the backwards sloping bow, mahogany planking, teak decking, chine shape and the chrome accents...). Anyway, I like it enough to spend a year or 2 building a model of it. I will do my best to model all of those things, including most of the interior, and I will power it in a similar fashion as the actual boat - with 3 water jets. Not some nice 800hp Rolls Royce jobs but some fairly lousy NQD jets connected to brushless motors. I am also thinking that the outer planking will not be mahogany but probably basswood (!). After checking some mahogany, it just seems to have too open a grain structure at this scale. When I did some test on basswood, it seems to more closely match the finish of the original boat, but that's a fight for another day.

Onto the build: