New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:11 PM
razorseal is offline
Find More Posts by razorseal
Registered User
razorseal's Avatar
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined Nov 2010
1,263 Posts
Question
Where to plug ESC to rx (to bind rx off rc)

Hey everyone,

Want to see if I can bind the rx and try a couple servos on my D8R. Want to try if my er9x is working properly.

my quesition is, where do I plug the ESC cable into the D8R. It has been a long time, so I forgot these things

any help? picture provided.

razorseal is offline Find More Posts by razorseal
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:14 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Registered User
freechip's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
28,067 Posts
On every other brand or most of them if not all it doesn't matter where you plug it since the servo ports share the same power bus.

BUT your manual says not to connect to side ports. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...X736171X30.pdf
Quote:
Warning: Battery or servos are NOT to be plugged into side ports (A1/A2/Rx), otherwise damage may occur
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:18 PM
phil_g is online now
Find More Posts by phil_g
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
Pontefract, Yorkshire, UK
Joined Jul 2007
1,403 Posts
It normally goes into whatever rx channel your tx is set up to use as throttle.
For example Futaba throttle is on channel 3, JR throttle is on channel 1, the 9x can be set up to have the throttle on your preferred channel.

If its just to power the rx whilst you bind it, it can go in any channel.

Bear in mind that some Frsky receivers are built 'upside down' so the plugs go neg upwards, cant remember if the D8R2 is.

Cheers
Phil
phil_g is online now Find More Posts by phil_g
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:24 PM
razorseal is offline
Find More Posts by razorseal
Registered User
razorseal's Avatar
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined Nov 2010
1,263 Posts
awesome. thanks guys!

another stupid question. which way does it go?I hve orange, red and purple cables coming out of ESC. which is negative?

This one? (orange up)


Or this one? (purple up)


Don't want to fry the rx
razorseal is offline Find More Posts by razorseal
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:34 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Registered User
freechip's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
28,067 Posts
- Negative/Ground
+ Positive
~ Signal



Your Yellow/Orange is signal, second pic is correct and DON'T worry if you connect wrong IT JUST won't work. Positive lead always stays in the middle and won't let the magic smoke out.

PS: the above is kinda the industry standard..
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Last edited by freechip; Nov 19, 2015 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2015, 01:48 PM
razorseal is offline
Find More Posts by razorseal
Registered User
razorseal's Avatar
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined Nov 2010
1,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
- Negative/Ground
+ Positive
~ Signal



Your Yellow/Orange is signal, second pic is correct and DON'T worry if you connect wrong IT JUST won't work. Positive lead always stays in the middle and won't let the magic smoke out.

PS: the above is kinda the industry standard..
and that's why pos in the in the middle. because you can't swap that regardless. got it
razorseal is offline Find More Posts by razorseal
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spectrum Rx: where to plug in RX LIFE pack? sothpaw Radios 29 Mar 11, 2015 02:31 PM
Discussion Spektrum RX/TX won't bind with off-brand ESC Jovanx Radios 8 Nov 03, 2014 02:43 PM
Discussion Problem binding Spektrum TX and RC - no bind plug Nate0624 Multirotor Electronics 0 Apr 29, 2014 08:51 PM
Sold AR6210 Spektrum DSMX Rx W/Satellite Rx/bind plug/$49 shipped CONUS paypal like new! john-doe Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Jan 16, 2014 04:46 PM
Discussion How do i bind a new rx to a dx6i without bind plug lightningmcnul Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 5 Jul 13, 2010 03:11 PM