Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:49 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
PPM-in is written and works very well (accurate around 0.5Us).

Support for EzUHF RSSI and signal-quality in PPM-signal is also done
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
PPM-in is written and works very well (accurate around 0.5Us).

Support for EzUHF RSSI and signal-quality in PPM-signal is also done
Dennis,

How's that...how did you do this?

You are supposed to be too busy to be doing all this, you must be done with finals.

The EzUHF RSSI is a digital output and that your working with analog? I'm courious how did you do it via software?

Do we need the latest ImmersionRC firmware as you were suggesting? Then of course for us for us non EE type with the EzUHF, what does the actual "hook up diagram" look like with the yellow, red and white wire from the EzUHF for the RSSI. Any idea how the ImmersionRC see's RSSI for both antennas on this rx? Wondering how helpful that is anyway?

Is this latest version of your software posted or are you doing final touches?

So what does the "PPM-in written" do that you just added ?

And I bet you been thinking more with the barometric sensor too right. Maybe you already have it running. I better hurry and order the BMP085. I read you discussing the BMP085 and the possibility of it being outdated? Maybe your code will work with the MS5611. I think the MS5611 is some of the latest technology, being little more sensitive...yes?

Still wanting to test one of your boards for you (and my soldering skills) - waiting for the the parts list to be updated with the changes you all have been talking about. Just tell me when.

Awesome work Dennis !!!!

Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:53 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,

How's that...how did you do this?

You are supposed to be too busy to be doing all this, you must be done with finals.

The EzUHF RSSI is a digital output and that your working with analog? I'm courious how did you do it via software?

Do we need the latest ImmersionRC firmware as you were suggesting? Then of course for us for us non EE type with the EzUHF, what does the actual "hook up diagram" look like with the yellow, red and white wire from the EzUHF for the RSSI. Any idea how the ImmersionRC see's RSSI for both antennas on this rx? Wondering how helpful that is anyway?

Is this latest version of your software posted or are you doing final touches?

So what does the "PPM-in written" do that you just added ?

And I bet you been thinking more with the barometric sensor too right. Maybe you already have it running. I better hurry and order the BMP085. I read you discussing the BMP085 and the possibility of it being outdated? Maybe your code will work with the MS5611. I think the MS5611 is some of the latest technology, being little more sensitive...yes?

Still wanting to test one of your boards for you (and my soldering skills) - waiting for the the parts list to be updated with the changes you all have been talking about. Just tell me when.

Awesome work Dennis !!!!

Rick
I finished a report earlier today and had a little time to look at the PPM-implementation etc.

EzUHF can mix RSSI and signal-quality in the PPM-stream with an update, that should be available sooner or later.
I'm not using the digital-link shown on your attached picture.
Also, a good amount of extra options have been added in the config-file.

All the EzUHF stuff should really be straight forward. You just use 1 channel from EzUHF with PPM-signal and connect it directly to the OSD (D8 on Arduino by the way).
You can decide if you wanna show RSSI from antenna 1 and 2, RSSI from antenna 1 and signal quality etc.

PPM-in is used to get information from EzUHF, but can also be used to control the OSD. At the moment I only have a small test menu system, but I'll include a little just to show the possibilities.

Quite a lot have been changed in the software, all characters re-arranged on MAX7456 and a good amount of code added - so there is still a lot of polishing before I'll release it.

I've removed the old PCB-design from BatchPCB, as a few things have been changed in the new design.

I haven't looked at sensors yet. I'll most likely write support for a pressure sensor, accelerometer and gyro as prove of concept. When that's done, it shouldn't be too difficult to add new sensors if people prefer something else.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 01:05 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quick test just to show the idea/options. The number bottom right corner (above mah) is RSSI and signal-quality.

DIY OSD - PPM-in test (0 min 55 sec)
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Dec 09, 2012 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 01:10 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Dennis, one word: magnificent!
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 01:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Looks cool! Is there any way to find out from the "start screen" at what rate in Hz the gps is configured?
Also we'll need some write up about the cal-functions.
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 01:34 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Dennis, one word: magnificent!
Thanks !

Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Looks cool! Is there any way to find out from the "start screen" at what rate in Hz the gps is configured?
No not really. I'm using a MKT-GPS and it's being configured for 5Hz on each start-up.

Speed, los and altitude is updated in the same interval ofc.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 03:37 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Dennis,
I was liking the bar graph delay.... it was kind of a count down for me - I get all set up, turn the GoPro on then go sit down and wait for the satellite connection. The adrenalin gets going when it gets satellites and the bar graph delay starts. When it finished, I had it set to zero everything out, then I take off. Sorry, but I hope you didn't take that bar graph away or at least keep it as an option ? You just have too many awesome ideas Dennis, and then we get set on one. But hey, it's open source so we can always tweak it if we want it bad enough
Thanks again and another even more amazing update!!
Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 03:50 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,
I was liking the bar graph delay.... it was kind of a count down for me - I get all set up, turn the GoPro on then go sit down and wait for the satellite connection. The adrenalin gets going when it gets satellites and the bar graph delay starts. When it finished, I had it set to zero everything out, then I take off. Sorry, but I hope you didn't take that bar graph away or at least keep it as an option ? You just have too many awesome ideas Dennis, and then we get set on one. But hey, it's open source so we can always tweak it if we want it bad enough
Thanks again and another even more amazing update!!
Rick
Well, the small characters for GPS-coordinates just took 110 character-spaces (50% of the available space).

The loading-bar was placed on some of those. While I could put them somewhere else, it decided the time was better spent om some other features - heck most people will never see the bar as it's gone before they get the googles on

Just adding a little to menu-system.

All ideas and suggestions are welcome
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:13 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Well, the small characters for GPS-coordinates just took 110 character-spaces (50% of the available space).

The loading-bar was placed on some of those. While I could put them somewhere else, it decided the time was better spent om some other features - heck most people will never see the bar as it's gone before they get the googles on

Just adding a little to menu-system.

All ideas and suggestions are welcome
Dennis,

Once upon a time I think you were asking me about how I was wanting the timer to start - I think you talked about the idea of having the timer start when we are airborne - did I misunderstood ? Is that really a possibility? Would the amps trigger it or what? Anyway, if that could be an option, I think it would a be nice feature.

Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:15 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,

Once upon a time I think you were asking me about how I was wanting the timer to start - I think you talked about the idea of having the timer start when we are airborne - did I misunderstood ? Is that really a possibility? Would the amps trigger it or what? Anyway, if that could be an option, I think it would a be nice feature.

Rick
The main problem is to do it a "safe way". For a multirotor you can use amp-draw, but not all use current-sensor. For plane speed would be a fine trigger.

All in all, it's possible, but a bit difficult to make a good solution to all platforms. Especially due to the fact that the GPS is quite inaccurate in the beginning.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Dec 09, 2012 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:28 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
I've added the following to the menu that can be controlled with PPM (transmitter) and saved on EEPROM:

- Show PPM
- Volt alarm
- mah alarm
- Volt calibration
- Current calibration

Anything else that would be convenient to have available?
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:30 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
The main problem is to due it a "safe way". For a multirotor you can use amp-draw, but not all use current-sensor. For plane speed would be a fine trigger.

All in all, it's possible, but a bit difficult to make a good solution to all platforms. Especially due to the fact that the GPS is quite inaccurate in the beginning.

Hmm....yes I see what you are saying. Well, maybe you hit on it. Maybe you could have those options 1) based on amp draw or 2) based on speed 3) based on satellites ?
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:34 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Hmm....yes I see what you are saying. Well, maybe you hit on it. Maybe you could have those options 1) based on amp draw or 2) based on speed 3) based on satellites ?
Year that could be a possibility, but have a look at the options available atm...
Already way too much.

/////////////////////////////////////////////
/// BASIC SETTINGS
/////////////////////////////////////////////

//===========================
// Video system: PAL or NTSC
//===========================
// Pal = 0
// NTSC = 1
#define VIDEO_SYSTEM 1

//===========================
// Units
//===========================
// 1 == meters, kilometers km/h,
// 0 == feet, miles and miles per hour.
#define UNITS 1

//===========================
// GPS baudrate
//===========================
// GPS BAUD-rate settings.
#define BAUD 9600
#define BAUD2 38400 // For testing, just ignore for now.

//===========================
// Analog input
//===========================
#define VOLT_MEAS 0 // Battery voltage A0
#define CURRENT_MEAS 2 // Current sensor A2
#define RSSI_MEAS 1 // RSSI or second battery on A1

//===========================
// Analog input calibration
//===========================
#define VOLT_GAIN_DEF 0.195 // For voltage-divider with 10K and 3.3K
#define CUR_GAIN_DEF 0.24 // 25 A current sensor.
// These values should more or less be correct. Feel free to make a calibration (a few measurements and a linear approksimation) if you feel like it.
// 25 A sensor = 0.24
// 50 A sensor = 0.49
// 100A sensor = 0.98

//===========================
// Battery/voltage alarm
//===========================
// Defined as voltage * 10. (for example 100 = 10 volt)
#define VOLT_ALARM_DEF 100

//===========================
// mah alarm
//===========================
// Just written as mAh. 2200 = 2200 mAh.
#define MAH_ALARM_DEF 2200

//===========================
// Use GPS
//===========================
// 1 = Use GPS
// 0 = Use without GPS
#define USE_GPS 1


//===========================
// Use PPM-in
//===========================
// 1 = Use PPM-in
// 0 = Don't use PPM-in
#define USE_PPM 1

#define PPM_POSITIVE 0 // positive or negative PPM?



//===========================
// Menu control channel
//===========================
#define MENU_CONTROL_CH1 3
#define MENU_CONTROL_CH2 2

//===========================
// Use saved values (From menu-system etc)?
//===========================
// 1 = Use saved values
// 0 = Don't use saved values
#define USED_SAVED_VALUES 1

//===========================
// Show timer
//===========================
// 1 = Show timer
// 0 = Don't show timer
#define SHOW_TIMER 1


// Altitude offset
//===========================
//Altitude offset (altitude is automatic set to 0 when home-position is set)
// 1 = on
// 0 = off
#define ALTITUDE_OFFSET 1

//===========================
// Show RSSI/2. battery or analog sensor
//===========================
// 1 = show RSSI
// 0 = Don't show
#define SHOW_RSSI 0

//===========================
// Show GPS-coordinates.
//===========================
// 1 = show GPS coordinates
// 0 = Don't show
#define SHOW_GPS_COORDINATES 1

#define LAT_LINE TOPLINE+1 // Line to show latitude coordinates
#define LAT_POS 1 // Position on line to show coordinates

#define LON_LINE TOPLINE+1 // Line to show longitude coordinates
#define LON_POS 24 // Position on line to show coordinates

//===========================
// Show battery voltage
//===========================
// 1 = show voltage
// 0 = don't show voltage
#define SHOW_VOLTAGE 1

//===========================
// Show current
//===========================
// 1 = show current
// 0 = don't show current
#define SHOW_CURRENT 1


/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
/// MORE ADVANCED SETTINGS
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

//===========================
// EzUHF RSSI in PPM
//===========================
#define USE_EZUHF_RSSI 1

#define EZUHF_RSSI_CH 3
#define EZUHF_SIG_CH 4

#define EZUHF_RSSI_MIN 2175 //uS * 2
#define EZUHF_RSSI_MAX 3830 //uS * 2

#define EZUHF_SIG_MIN 2175 //uS * 2
#define EZUHF_SIG_MAX 3830 //uS * 2

//===========================
// Home-position delay
//===========================
#define SET_HOME_DELAY 46

//===========================
// Pressure sensor
//===========================
#define USE_BAROMETER 0 // Only simulation at the moment.

//===========================
// Gyro + accelerometer
//===========================
#define USE_ARTIFICIAL_HORIZON 0

//===========================
// Extend max LOS-range (from approx 46 km to 463 km max)
#define EXTEND_RANGE 1

// Clock is used in baud-settings
#define clock 16000000
#define BAUD_SETTINGS clock/16/BAUD-1
#define BAUD_SETTINGS2 clock/16/BAUD2-1

// Show summary when...
///*
#define summary_speed 5 // Speed less than (in km/h)
#define summary_los 100 // LOS less than (in meters)
#define summary_current 99 // Current less than (in amps)
#define summary_time 120 // Flight time more than (in seconds)
#define summary_altitude 999 // altitude less than (in meters)

// Update-rate. Used as 100/UPDATERATE, avoid to get decimal-numbers as they will be ignored resulting in in-accurate timing´
// Some optimisation have been done, should not be changed from 10.
#define UPDATERATE 10

#define USE_GPS_TIME 1

// Show heading home as numbers as well
#define SHOW_HEADING_HOME 0
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:42 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Dennis,
Yep, when do you stop ?
The attraction is open source and simplicity. Soon it will be so complicated nobody will be able to touch it !
I'm sure whatever you do will be awesome ..... keep on going !
looking forward to taking it for a spin
Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 05:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 10:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 03:50 PM