Old Mar 21, 2014, 05:00 PM
KDS450QS(ZYX4),V977,CX-20
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Apr 2012
5,112 Posts
Mini-Review
WLtoys F939 4-Channel Airplane RTF Review

Introduction

I received a WLtoys F939 RTF as my first micro RTF airplane. As it is a pretty good airplane, I thought of sharing my thoughts of this airplane here. I hope thatís ok as I canít seem to find airplane reviews in this forum.

I am a beginner to airplanes - I only had a HobbyKing Cessna and an Nine Eagles Xtra 300 before getting the F939; I also did not read through the Parkzone Polecat thread, which the F939 bears so much resemblance to. As such, I may write about really obvious, beginner-level stuff so please bear with me.

Iíd like to thank the nice folks at Tmart for sending me a F939 for review. Here goes!

The Package

Below is a video of me unboxing the package.

Unboxing WLtoys F939 4-Channel Airplane (FlySky) (3 min 9 sec)

It comes with 2 x 1S 3.7V 130mAh batteries (MCPX-styled connector), 1 x spare prop, 1 x USB charger, 1 x transmitter, and other miscellaneous stuff.

Build Quality

The micro airplane is small and feels light. The tail section gives me the impression that it is weak and fragile.
To see the internals, I removed the 4 pieces of clear tape then removed the top cover.

The control surfaces were neutral out-of-the-box except for the two ailerons. I had to shorten/length the push rods a little. Overall, the range of movement for the control surfaces suggest to me that this is going to be a highly agile airplane.

I noticed that after applying aileron inputs, the control surfaces do not return to neutral. I have to apply the opposite direction then it goes to neutral. This is going to negatively affect flight.

I have no idea where the center of gravity is so I guessed it is at the line on the main wing where the red area meets the white area. Based on that, I adjusted the position of the battery to achieve a balanced aircraft.