SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 06, 2012, 12:55 PM
Joined Nov 2011
55 Posts
Discussion
crashed my plane and need some advice on rxs and escs..

hi guys..

so i crashed my t28... it was far away and all of a sudden i tried to turn it back around and it had zero control..

i have that orange rx in there..

1) do you think it was a brownout caused by the bec in the stock e flight esc? i was coming up on 6 minutes of flight time and perhaps the voltage had dropped too low?
2) or do you think that the orange rx failed on its range? i do not have it equipped with satellites

in the future what advice would you give me to stop this from happening. I am fairly new to the hobby and only through rc groups and online have i been able to educate myself.

thanks in advance for your time guys...

jonas
jonasstodart is offline Find More Posts by jonasstodart
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 06, 2012, 01:24 PM
fmw
Joined Jul 2009
1,955 Posts
My advice is to keep the planes close by.
fmw is offline Find More Posts by fmw
Old Feb 06, 2012, 01:28 PM
Joined Nov 2011
55 Posts
fair enough.. but i find that sometimes its hard to tell in the sky how far away you are....
Old Feb 06, 2012, 02:50 PM
fmw
Joined Jul 2009
1,955 Posts
Then you need more practice. When the plane is hard to see it is way, way too far away.
fmw is offline Find More Posts by fmw
Old Feb 06, 2012, 02:56 PM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
12,015 Posts
It's unlikely to have been a brownout caused by battery voltage getting too low. Even if the battery reaches lvc, and the ESC shuts down or slows down the motor, there's still plenty of volts left to power the receiver through the BEC that's in the ESC.

So, more likely you were out of range, as others have suggested; or maybe you were simply disoriented because of the distance, and input a wrong control.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Old Feb 06, 2012, 05:34 PM
Novice in training
United States, NC, Statesville