HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 23, 2012, 07:59 PM
Las Vegas
Joined May 2007
4 Posts
Discussion
Collective vs. fixed-pitch for first helicopter

I have been flying an indoor coaxial helicopter for a bit. I want to begin the transition to actual outdoor RC flying. It seems that the prevailing opinion is to transition to a fixed-pitch first and then on to collective pitch.

My question is how difficult and/or realistic it is to jump straight to a collective pitch heli first. My concern is wasting money on a fixed pitch heli only to outgrow it quickly and end up a the collective pitch anyway. I appreciate the thoughts.
g8r777 is offline Find More Posts by g8r777
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:12 PM
Joined Aug 2012
413 Posts
I'm just a new noob but I skipped coaxial and fixed pitch and went straight for Real Flight 6 and a Blade MCPX.

Lots of crashes but I have it figured out now.

Guess it depends on your patience, i'm very patient and very determined, and i'm also good at fixing things and didn't mind spending money on spare parts. If I wasn't all of those things i'm guessing I would have been frustrated. The MCPX is pretty tough but I did break it and still break it..usually minor.

Edit: Im not recommending anything other than the sim..gather info and make a decision on what best fits you.
KTMDirtFace is offline Find More Posts by KTMDirtFace
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:34 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,430 Posts
It depends on what sort of coax you have been flying. If it's one of those 3 channel toys, a small FP heli or quad is definitely a good idea to break the bad habits it taught you without breaking the bank.
Balr14 is online now Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:46 PM
Closed Account
Joined Apr 2010
1,025 Posts
I started with a coax - my personal oppinion is it was a waste of money. Almost flew it's self and I outgrew it in less than a month.