Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 12, 2012, 01:20 PM
Don't drink and fly
Exploding Fist's Avatar
Joined May 2012
646 Posts
Does the little one have another one inside?
Exploding Fist is offline Find More Posts by Exploding Fist
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2012, 04:46 PM
Registered User
marcelog's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Oct 2011
152 Posts
next year I'm going to Australia, probably Melbourne, is it possible to travel by plane with the quadcopter? is there any problem to carry the LIPO batteries?? 1,2ghz and 2,4ghz are allowed frequencies in Australia?

Thanks
marcelog is offline Find More Posts by marcelog
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdelarme View Post
That sounds like a great idea. Like I said I am not supplying the ground wire. the picture was more of a proof of concept. I was actually looking for a piece of braided flat copper but I haven't been able to find a small piece (low weight)
What you really NEED to be grounded to is the backplane of the GPS antenna itself. Going anywhere else might create a ground loop. Is there anyone with a wrecked GPS puck that they can open up and shoot pix of ?
SCVJeff is offline Find More Posts by SCVJeff
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Mt Hutton
Joined Jul 2007
144 Posts
you need to check with your carrier but heres what Qantas says

Portable electronic devices containing lithium or lithium ion cells or batteries and Spare lithium or lithium ion cells or batteries

•Spare Lithium ion batteries and cells with a Watt hour rating greater than 160Wh, are not permitted on an aircraft under any circumstances.
• Spare lithium ion batteries and cells with a Watt hour rating of between 100Wh and 160Wh are limited to two batteries per passenger. Batteries must have terminals insulated or protected to prevent short circuit and must be carried in cabin baggage only. – Operator approval is required for these prior to travel.
• Spare Lithium ion batteries and cells with a Watt hour rating or less than 100Wh have no limit to the number that can be carried, batteries must have terminals insulated or protected to prevent short circuit and must be carried in cabin baggage only
• Spare Lithium metal or Lithium alloy batteries with a lithium content of less than 2 grams have no limit to the number that can be carried, however, batteries must have terminals insulated or protected to prevent short circuit and must be carried in cabin baggage only.
• If batteries are installed in equipment such as laptop computers, camera, calculators etc – the above limits still apply, however they can be carried as checked baggage, provided the electronic device is protected from accidental activation.


Note: Conversion from Ah (Amp hours) to Wh is: Ah x Voltage = Wh.
joeb56 is offline Find More Posts by joeb56
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:55 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Mt Hutton
Joined Jul 2007
144 Posts
sorry forgot
2.4 OK not sure about 1.2

Tx and Rx need C tick - but i'm not sure if anyone woulf check
Cheers
Joe
joeb56 is offline Find More Posts by joeb56
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 08:35 PM
Registered User
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Dec 2006
16 Posts
Flame Wheel 450

My 450 was flying great until I installed the GPS, Now it climbs when going forward in GPS at about a 10*angle, then looses altitude when flying backwards. I've tried nose heavy, perfect balance, tail heavy balance with same results. It will hover great even in heavy wind gusts. Any suggestions ??
oldgrandpa
oldgrandpa is offline Find More Posts by oldgrandpa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:14 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2005
1,034 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldgrandpa View Post
My 450 was flying great until I installed the GPS, Now it climbs when going forward in GPS at about a 10*angle, then looses altitude when flying backwards. I've tried nose heavy, perfect balance, tail heavy balance with same results. It will hover great even in heavy wind gusts. Any suggestions ??
oldgrandpa
Have you tired Calibrating the GPS/Compass?

I had a drift when switching into GPS mode but after i calibrated it if flew fine.

I also have noticed that if i take off and fly and switch to GPS straight away then it doesnt hold very well.
If i flyin Attitude mode for a short while then switch into GPS then i often find GPS holds better.
There maybe some strange auto trimming going on in there that the GPS requires.
Dunno but it works for me.

Ben
wazzer is online now Find More Posts by wazzer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:24 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2005
1,034 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthOrbiter View Post
Does anyone have any experience using Alpha gel or Sorbothane mounts to lessen vibration transfer to a camera? A little research regarding such mounts along with balancing props is the way to go. Alpha gel is expensive.
Guys

You should be focusing on how to reduce the source of the vibrations as opposed to isolating the vibrations.
In fact i think this is easier than trying to find that Magic Foam/Gell/Rubber, whatever, that everyone seems to be looking for.

If you balance all your motors AND balance all your Props correctly then you may not even need to look for this magic VooDoo vibration isolating miracle!

I agree that sensitive electrnics such as cameras should be "soft" mounted with a some sort of foam but its there to protect the camera as opposed to isolate the vibrations.

Its pretty simple to get great results balancing motors these days as most of us have smartphones that can be used for vibration analysis.
Check out this simple video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=Q_yigvysspo

Do that AND balance your props and you will find that you will have very little vibs left to isolate the camer a from.

Any resulting vibs in your airframe will probably be from the propwash over the arms.
This can be reduced with round arms as square ones create the most turbualnce.
Teardrop shaped arms would be best but very dificult to find.

Just my 2 cents!

Ben
wazzer is online now Find More Posts by wazzer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:36 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2005
1,034 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamsherman View Post
Hey folks,

Just having a bit of grief getting my quad to yaw properly. Every time i yaw either way, once i release the yaw stick my quaqd blips with power and bounces up about a foot high. Sometimes when using the yaw control the quad climbs too.

I have tried little gain, and ive tried lots of gain and tried a few numbers in the middle and i just cant tune it to yaw nice and smooth.

Any tips i should try?
Try turning your Yaw gain down.

I get the same results if my Yaw gain is too high.

Multi Rotor Yaw control will never be like a Helicopter it will alwasy be a little mushy as we are varying the tourque as was described above.
Hence we are relying on the speed up and slow down of opposing motors and they can only speed up and slow down so fast without upsetting the balance of the rest of the flight controls.

I settle for a more relaxed yaw as i prefer the yaw not to upset the other controls.

Ben
wazzer is online now Find More Posts by wazzer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:42 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,219 Posts
I have been using this on my TBS Discovery. It works very well but very pricy.

http://www.vibrationmounts.com/Store...=Products8.htm

Use the green.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Accessory Pin Out
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 03:00 AM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Central California USA
Joined Feb 2011
379 Posts
Antivibration

Agreed that props, motors, even badly machined prop adapters, and prop molds will make vibration.
With all the balancing I have found that flying against wind will induce vibration making jello affect on the cmos gopro. This may be due to how the frame is built.
Some 1/2 in Sorbothane (duro 30) will be tested soon.
It is hard to lift a 3.5 Lb ccd camera otherwise.
As much vibration dampening possibilities need examination.
From what I've researched even NASA uses Sorbothane for their cameras etc..
EarthOrbiter is offline Find More Posts by EarthOrbiter
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:22 AM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCVJeff View Post
What you really NEED to be grounded to is the backplane of the GPS antenna itself. Going anywhere else might create a ground loop. Is there anyone with a wrecked GPS puck that they can open up and shoot pix of ?
Here's the inside of mine.

Update on my gps: I got a new one and this time I'm trying the flush mount. So far tests are promising. Testing in my backyard, I got full lock even with it right next to my Contour cam. That is without my AV Tx plugged in. When I plug that in it drops to 1 red blink, 1 green, which is pretty much what I got before with the stalk mount. Hopefully today I'll be able to test in an open area. I'm hoping I don't have to do any shielding or use ferrite chokes or any of that. With this same setup and the gps mounted on the stalk, I never had a problem getting full lock.
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Stumblebee's Avatar
Port Coquitlam, BC CANADA
Joined Jun 2009
2,082 Posts
Hope you can find someone to share and split the costs with. OUCH!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
I have been using this on my TBS Discovery. It works very well but very pricy.

http://www.vibrationmounts.com/Store...=Products8.htm

Use the green.
Stumblebee is offline Find More Posts by Stumblebee
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:29 PM
Registered User
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Dec 2006
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazzer View Post
Have you tired Calibrating the GPS/Compass?

I had a drift when switching into GPS mode but after i calibrated it if flew fine.

I also have noticed that if i take off and fly and switch to GPS straight away then it doesnt hold very well.
If i flyin Attitude mode for a short while then switch into GPS then i often find GPS holds better.
There maybe some strange auto trimming going on in there that the GPS requires.
Dunno but it works for me.

Ben
Hi Ben, tried your method of taking off in Atti then changing to GPS, works better after flying about one minute in Atti. I had calibrated the compass twice. It will fly in a straight line & hover in a very small area (about 3 Ft.) I just need the GPS for the RTH since I can no longer chase these things around the field. Thanks for your help
oldgrandpa
oldgrandpa is offline Find More Posts by oldgrandpa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:44 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldgrandpa View Post
Hi Ben, tried your method of taking off in Atti then changing to GPS, works better after flying about one minute in Atti. I had calibrated the compass twice. It will fly in a straight line & hover in a very small area (about 3 Ft.) I just need the GPS for the RTH since I can no longer chase these things around the field. Thanks for your help
oldgrandpa
As I unerstand the NAZA, altitude has nothing to do with whether GPS is connected or not because the FC uses only the baro sensor in either case. So, position lock uses GPS for just two axis (left/right, for/aft) and the Baro for altitude. Also, what can affect altitude is sunlight (wierd, I know!) and there is a black tape fix for this (I taped both sides).

I'm sure someone here will correct me if I am mistaken here.
mark
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 220 Jul 01, 2014 09:58 PM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM