HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 31, 2014, 12:29 AM
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2011
164 Posts
Discussion
To newsprint or not to newsprint?

I have been reading a lot about covering foam planes in newsprint with glue. I am wanting to do this at some point with my Dynam Skytrainer. The thing is a lot of what I have read talks about shrinkage and consequently warpage of surfaces. I do not want to take the chance of warping any of the surfaces of my plane.
Is there something else that can be used with Elmers/titebond that will not shrink as newspaper does but will be just as strong? Also, Is this a project you would recommend for a very handy noob? I am the type that has almost always been able to do something I have never done before.....but not always lol
jtroutt19 is offline Find More Posts by jtroutt19
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2014, 06:44 AM
Build straight - Fly twisty
Australia, QLD, Little Mountain
Joined Feb 2010
4,260 Posts
What do you hope to achieve by covering your Dynam Skytrainer with paper?
Adding weight to a proven design is almost never a good thing unless there is a real need to address some specific issue.
Whiskers is online now Find More Posts by Whiskers
Old Jan 31, 2014, 06:52 AM
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined May 2012
72 Posts
You can use coffee filters or even better some bamboo cofee filters.
I heard that they are great for covering planes.
wessone is offline Find More Posts by wessone
Old Jan 31, 2014, 07:43 AM
Joined Dec 2011
164 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskers View Post
What do you hope to achieve by covering your Dynam Skytrainer with paper?
Adding weight to a proven design is almost never a good thing unless there is a real need to address some specific issue.
To learn something! is the main reason. Also I eventually would like to paint it so it would look different than every other one on the market
Old Jan 31, 2014, 08:14 AM
low tech high tech
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
3,028 Posts