HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 01, 2012, 01:47 PM
UMs & parkflyers... for now.
United States, VA, Herndon
Joined Apr 2012
2,959 Posts
Build Log
Cartoon C-119

This is my first build log. So please, be gentle.

Back in 1963, I received several toy airplanes as Christmas presents. Among them was a toy C-119. Finding the photograph in my late father's Navy footlocker, I became tempted to make a cartoon RC out of the idea, based on my memories.

I do not remember what happened to the plane but, I remembered that the fuselage was an dark blue plastic and the wings and booms were silver. I wondered if I could build something around the PZ UM Mosquito brick, motors and props, keeping the weight down to overcome the added drag... or would something in the 180-size be necessary? I started making some sketches from the photo and recording some thought on a blog thread.

Then, I decided to go looking for information on the toy. found the same toy at the "National Museum of Play Online Collections" C-184-10 / U.S. Army Globemaster / Flying Boxcar

I also found an antique toy trader with a example of the toy.
http://www.txantiquemall.com/ttm_vintoys.htm
US Army Transport C-184-10
Materials: Metal & Plastic, Decals on Both Engine Mounts/Tail
Size: Wing Span: 22"; Nose to Tail: 17"
Condition: Played With, Split to Plastic on Nose & Tail

Interestingly, he was located less than 80 miles from where I grew up (Conroe, Texas) so, conceivably, he might have my toy.

I wanted it back! So, I bought it!

I received the prototype toy... and, it was spooky. I thought to myself, "I remember it being bigger." I suppose to a 5-year old it was huge.