HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:52 AM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Exmouth
Joined Mar 2001
4,114 Posts
I'm thinking of fitting this motor from BEVRC that I have kicking about http://www.bevrc.com/ax2814special-c...p205.htmlabout with a Hyperion 50a opto esc.
mudlark is offline Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 19, 2012, 10:30 AM
go ahead and try
Canada, ON, Maynooth
Joined Nov 2011
471 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
I'm thinking of fitting this motor from BEVRC that I have kicking about http://www.bevrc.com/ax2814special-c...p205.htmlabout with a Hyperion 50a opto esc.
Link didn't work for me.... 2814 i can see, what Kv?

Still waiting for the NTM 3536 1400Kv and servos, so I have yet to fly her... Tempted to try with the stock motor on 4s... but I think it is better to wait, especially for the servos.

Been thinking about transferring the FY-31AP GPS/ data 602 over to her from the EPP FPV... want to see how the loading works out first, before I add too much weight. I am using the 1600mm wing, so I may be getting close to its threshold.

It would be really cool to be able to order the 2m wing separately...
simplyfly is offline Find More Posts by simplyfly
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 09:50 PM
Registered User
HoosierGuy's Avatar
United States, IN
Joined Jan 2012
785 Posts
For those of you with the Raptor, where are you placing the ESC? My wires came from Hobbyking so now I can install my new ESC (40amp) and also UBEC. But my ESC is a Mystery and it says not to have the wires to the battery longer than six inches. If I install it in the motor housing area and with the battery in the nose, that would be longer than six inches. I'm wanting opinions on where I should place my ESC and UBEC. Once I get the ESC and UBEC wired up I'll probably make my first video equipment purchase for FPV use. Thanks
HoosierGuy is offline Find More Posts by HoosierGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 05:57 AM
Registered User
United States, IN, Lebanon
Joined Oct 2011
380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
I'm thinking of fitting this motor from BEVRC that I have kicking about http://www.bevrc.com/ax2814special-c...p205.htmlabout with a Hyperion 50a opto esc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyfly View Post
Link didn't work for me.... 2814 i can see, what Kv?

Still waiting for the NTM 3536 1400Kv and servos, so I have yet to fly her... Tempted to try with the stock motor on 4s... but I think it is better to wait, especially for the servos.

Been thinking about transferring the FY-31AP GPS/ data 602 over to her from the EPP FPV... want to see how the loading works out first, before I add too much weight. I am using the 1600mm wing, so I may be getting close to its threshold.

It would be really cool to be able to order the 2m wing separately...
Thats the motor they suggest for the skywalker
schusterjo is offline Find More Posts by schusterjo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:19 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
411 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by schusterjo View Post
Thats the motor they suggest for the skywalker
I thing 3536 motor will not fit in to falcon. I bought 2836 1500kv which fitted perfectly and powers the plane very well.
It revs revs the 8x4 prop 16500rpm at max power.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 09:59 PM
go ahead and try
Canada, ON, Maynooth
Joined Nov 2011
471 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
I thing 3536 motor will not fit in to falcon. I bought 2836 1500kv which fitted perfectly and powers the plane very well.
It revs revs the 8x4 prop 16500rpm at max power.
NTM 35/36 fits... I had to make a small mod to the motor pod. Running stock prop, 50A ESC, 3s 5000mAh the raptor lifts off in moments...easy to launch off the grass.
simplyfly is offline Find More Posts by simplyfly
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
411 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyfly View Post
NTM 35/36 fits... I had to make a small mod to the motor pod. Running stock prop, 50A ESC, 3s 5000mAh the raptor lifts off in moments...easy to launch off the grass.
Can you share some close up pictures for mods that you made for 3536 motor?
Thanks
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:20 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Exmouth
Joined Mar 2001
4,114 Posts
well I managed to squeze the BEVRC Skywalker motor into the Raptor. Really tight and rubbs a bit but that'll ware out. Not impressed with the way the pod is secured. Tends to flex a bit. I've solved this by simple wrapping with electrical tape from the top to the bottom to pull it all together, works fine.
Changed out the esc for a 50a Hyperion hopefully test fly tomorrow
mudlark is offline Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:58 AM
Registered User
Ipoh, Perak Malaysia
Joined Jul 2006
3,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
I thing 3536 motor will not fit in to falcon. I bought 2836 1500kv which fitted perfectly and powers the plane very well.
It revs revs the 8x4 prop 16500rpm at max power.
Are you sure it is 16500 rpm, with losses, inefficiencies etc factored in? If so, you have better make sure you get a prop that can withstand that kind of rpm. The original slow-fly props can't take that kind of rpm. It might come apart in your face.

chewy
chewytm is offline Find More Posts by chewytm
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:34 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2012
857 Posts
After flying fully loaded for weeks (5000mah + FPV gear), adding the GoPro to the nose was the red flag that I needed to realize I've reached the weight limit for the stock motor. Regardless of COG, it was a slug to launch and she'd nose down hard at half throttle. The weight of the GoPro and TBS69 on the nose combined with the rest of my gear resulted in a nasty crash on my FPV test flight. I had tested LOS first, noticed it was underpowered on launch but was confident I could handle it. Big mistake. Always listen when that voice in your head tells you "it's time to go home".
I've had a backup 1.6m Raptor and an Eflite Power 10 on ice until I could sort out a proper mounting solution. So after the crash I began my new build and worked on a solid mount for the Power 10. I chose to go a route similar to Wirewolf, using a brace found in the stock tower for rear support. This brace is supported by both halves of the tower, very strong when tower is closed. Some Dremel work was needed to widen the tower to accept the larger motor. A 2" wooden disc fit perfectly inside the tower and served as a strong anchor for the X plate. 2 smaller strips of wood gorilla glued to the main disc act as spacers for the rear of the motor shaft while also providing a snug fit and reinforcement against the sides of the tower. Replaced stock screws with 4 longer screws to tighten it all up. Overall I'm pretty satisfied with this mount as it's rock solid, fits cleanly and snug inside the tower, and there's zero play or movement with the motor. This one-piece mount can be removed in under a minute, and a new motor can be mounted just as fast using the four screws and X plate. A few pics: (img tags for dropbox links don't appear to be working on this forum)














https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_171159.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_170728.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_170921.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_155437.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_155416.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_155258.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_155251.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_170748.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fl68yho5a...625_170806.jpg

Motor screams on the bench with an APC 8x6e. New paintjob is complete (US drone grey/blue) and most of the FPV gear is in. GoPro survived 250' nose into the grass from the crash and I'm waiting on a replacement lens. Hoping to maiden her this weekend!
Alpha1actual is offline Find More Posts by Alpha1actual
Last edited by Alpha1actual; Jun 27, 2012 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:45 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
411 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewytm View Post
Are you sure it is 16500 rpm, with losses, inefficiencies etc factored in? If so, you have better make sure you get a prop that can withstand that kind of rpm. The original slow-fly props can't take that kind of rpm. It might come apart in your face.

chewy
The esc I use has log function. It shows the max rpm. On the ground the maximum rpm which I checked with tachometer is 14650. 16500 at the air seems correct.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 04:44 PM
Registered User
richie967's Avatar
Cardiff, UK
Joined Aug 2008
278 Posts
Motor Questions

Hi forum,

Still struggling with motor choices for this plane, The motor i bought a few weeks ago for the plane is too big, it was the Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 3536 1200kv. I probably should have read the dimensions before ordering! Its going to cost too much to send back, so i'm going to keep it on the bench for another project.

I just want to get this bird in the air! - I also have a skywalker motor but i dont think thats going to fit either - 3536 1450kv.

I have just found another motor from an old wing i used to have - its a 2217-6t 1500kv motor. Will this work? it had an 8 x 4 prop on it before?

They are very different in size! pics below...

I dont really want to hack about with the motor pylon as i am not that good with modifications, so a straight fit would be best, beginning to think i should have ordered a RTF!

Which of the above 3 motors would you use? Or should i go back on hobbyking and order the 2836 1500kv motor as ive since discovered it may fit and be okay for the 2m version.

Advice if possible! Cheers
richie967 is offline Find More Posts by richie967
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 08:55 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2012
857 Posts
The 3536 will fit, I've seen it mounted. Look at the mount I made 3 posts up, it should fit that motor nicely

The stock motor is a beast for such a small motor and offers plenty of power for a stock setup, even with a 3S 5000mah up front. If you just want to get it up in the air, use the stock motor until you come up with a solid mount.

Whatever you do, replace the stock ESC and servos before your maiden.
Alpha1actual is offline Find More Posts by Alpha1actual
Last edited by Alpha1actual; Jun 26, 2012 at 09:08 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 26, 2012, 09:27 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2012
857 Posts
Stock motor, with no GoPro mounted:
Unedited, jump to 6 minute mark to get past the climb.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcUDCne2bJU
Alpha1actual is offline Find More Posts by Alpha1actual
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 27, 2012, 01:52 AM
I love my HammerHead wing...
sgrouts's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
663 Posts
nice job!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha1actual View Post
Stock motor, with no GoPro mounted:
Unedited, jump to 6 minute mark to get past the climb.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcUDCne2bJU
I really enjoyed your video!

I am preparing my Raptor 2m too.
I believe i will maiden her in July.
I can't wait...
sgrouts is online now Find More Posts by sgrouts
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FPV Car and Other Fun FPV Projects Thread: Crash9 FPV Talk 6573 Today 06:12 AM
Discussion Skywalker or Lanyu FPV Raptor? alishanmao FPV Talk 141 Dec 27, 2013 08:49 PM
Discussion New home of Trappy's "Ultimate Zephyr FPV Build" Thread timnilson Other Websites 19 Mar 21, 2011 03:58 PM
Discussion FPV WARS (Thread for FPV "B" Movies) ch1 FPV Talk 8 Sep 16, 2009 05:37 PM
Raptor - how to install thread malcolmm 3D Flying 1 Jan 15, 2005 05:29 PM