HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 23, 2012, 11:31 AM
United States, MN, Otsego
Joined Dec 2010
389 Posts
Discussion
TH for FP? Why not?

A thought occurred to me today and I went searching on the various forums and could find no discussions of this type anywhere...

I am still relatively new at helicopters. I have been through a large 4 ch coax, a few micro FP helis and then a Blade SR (~200 to 300 size) CP along with a Genius CP micro.

One of the challenges moving from FP to CP was to train myself to use the TH switch instead of slamming the throttle stick down. I have learned this lesson and so, reflecting back on my progress through various heli's I now wonder...

For those who know they intend to move on to CP helis, and knowing ahead of time there will be this learning curve to resist slamming the throttle down and instead hit the throttle hold switch to kill throttle in an impending crash, why not program in a throttle hold switch to use in preparation while flying FP helis?

Even for the play station type controllers that come with something like the Xieda 9958 or the rtf versions of Blade helis like the msr and msrx, it doesn't seem that it would be difficult to mod the controller and add in a toggle switch that would simply cut the throttle. It doesn't actually require another channel, just a switch wired to simulate throttle all the way down.

I have seen mods for controllers for various purposes in the threads here but never saw one for adding in a throttle hold.

Just a thought, passing through my convoluted mind.

What do the masses here think? Bad Idea? Good Idea? Already done and I missed it idea?

Jim
jcmors is offline Find More Posts by jcmors
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2012, 12:19 PM
RTF (Ready to Fragment)
United States, WI, Beloit
Joined Nov 2012
3,916 Posts
It could be done. I could do it, and already thought of it.
All you need is a DPDT toggle to switch in and out the potentiometer,