New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 20, 2015, 07:04 PM
Find More Posts by rcbuilder65
Joined May 2015
6 Posts
Question
What ropeller do I use?

Hi,
I have bought a Suppo Brushless Motor A2208/14 1450kv for m scratch build trainer airplane because by other motor broke. I put a 9x4.7 prop on it and it started to heat up and to smell. I use a 3c lipo. Whats the best prop for this motor? And also for the plane the listed prop size is a 10x6 with a 1400kv motor but in the specs for those motors the suggested prop sizes are all between 8x6 and 9x6? Which should i use? sorry I'm just getting into the hobby
rcbuilder65 is offline Find More Posts by rcbuilder65
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2015, 07:15 PM
Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
3,354 Posts
First, you should use std electric props, not slow fly types on these higher kv motors. The SF typically pull more amps than std E props.The slowfly prop is designed for slower speeds, far below the rpms this motor is capable.
If the motor suggest 8/6 and 9/6 they likely intend 9/6 on 2S and 8/6 on 3S. The plane mfg suggestion of 10/6 means nothing to the motor, except you need to look for a motor capable of handling a 10/6 on 3S . If you need or want to run a 10/6, you need a larger motor, something like a 2836-1100. fwiw Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Old Aug 20, 2015, 07:38 PM
Joined May 2015
6 Posts
but does it matter if i use a 8x6 prop with my 1400kv motor on a plane with a 40inch wing span? like for the plane it says that it needs a 10x6 prop but can i still use a smaller one (8x6) since thats what the motor requires?
This is the prop i have. is this one good? https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...propeller.html
Old Aug 21, 2015, 07:38 AM
Find More Posts by eflightray
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
15,392 Posts
Have a look at this chart --

http://www.flybrushless.com/motor/view/27