HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2015, 06:38 PM
Joined Mar 2015
6 Posts
Idea
Avoid Helium Loss/Degredation

Hi all,

Firstly let me state I have no experience with actual construction or design of blimps or with forum posts but have started researching with the hopes of developing a long range blimp for a science project. From what I've heard, the biggest issue with Blimps is the loss or degradation of Helium. Whilst I lack the skills to implement this I was curious if anyone has tried to avoid this with a second envelope. By having two airtight (easier than helium tight?) envelopes one over the other you could pump in and contain (indefinitely?) a layer of higher pressure air that would stop helium leaking from the inner envelope due to the pressure difference.

Thoughts?
Thanks,
ManTheGoo
ManTheGoo is offline Find More Posts by ManTheGoo
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2015, 06:51 PM
Joined Feb 2009
467 Posts