HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 30, 2013, 11:11 AM
USA, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2011
3,110 Posts
Question
Which tail for a 3.5m vulture???

I'll be soon acquiring a used 3.5 m Vulture that I'm converting to electric by buying an E fuse,, I have the option of using the V tails that are already on this pure version ,,, or,,, paying an additional $150 to get cross tail. My background is mostly slope, where most preffered V Tails,, but I keep hearing that most Thermal pilots preffer cross tails, because they feel they're better for thermal turns????? Any thoughts or opinions on this????
I know this has been an ongoing debate for a loooooooong time among sailplane pilots. But I've never had this choice on the same plane before. Just wondering what others think in this particular application,, maybe someone who has had experience with the vulture 3.5???
Airman74 is offline Find More Posts by Airman74
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 30, 2013, 12:03 PM
SHADYBOY
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Feb 2005
77 Posts
I have a Vulture V tail and really its a very good flying airplane. It's a little heavy at 79 oz. But I really enjoyed flying it. I had a little mishap in Feb with the fuse. I ordered a X tail from SMM and have not recieved it yet so I can't give you a comparison. But I believe the X tail has a longer nose on it so you could use a lighter motor and bring the weight down. For that reason alone I would say X tail.
roseberry is offline Find More Posts by roseberry
Old Aug 30, 2013, 12:14 PM
USA, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2011
3,110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roseberry View Post