HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 07, 2011, 09:33 AM
Joined Nov 2007
18 Posts
Discussion
Eagle Eyes burned / dead

I was in Germany this summer doing calibration flights for a firm developing bird radar systems.

At the end of day one I forgot to unplug the battery from my ground station. When I remembered an unplugged, the wires leading to the Eagle Eyes had melted and the Eagle Eyes was dead. The battery voltage was about 7 v at the time.

There is no visible damage on the circuit board itself. When I try to power it up nothing happens - no lights, no smoke. No short circuit measured between + and -.

Any idea what component may have burnt? The norwegian postage fee for sending this to the USA for repairs will equal the price of new unit from Hobbyking so I might as well have a go at repairing it.

A schematic would come in handy if possible - I'm a electronics engineer.

Best regards - Paul
pkvaloy is offline Find More Posts by pkvaloy
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 11, 2011, 11:50 AM
Joined Nov 2003
4,926 Posts
Hi Paul,

Can you tell me what version of ET software you were running when you last configured your EagleEyes? That may help in pinpointing the culprit.
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 12, 2011, 06:19 AM
Joined Nov 2007
18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa View Post
Hi Paul,

Can you tell me what version of ET software you were running when you last configured your EagleEyes? That may help in pinpointing the culprit.
Hello

Thank you for getting back. The software used were version 9.57.

Best regards - Paul
Old Oct 29, 2011, 04:16 PM
Joined Nov 2007
18 Posts
Any news?
Old Nov 02, 2011, 02:53 PM
Joined Nov 2003
4,926 Posts