New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jul 28, 2015, 05:56 PM
scole is offline
Find More Posts by scole
Registered User
Joined Feb 2014
227 Posts
redo ca hinges

I put the elevator on too tight, not enough gap. what should I do? cut them apart and put new ones alongside? is there another solution?
scole is offline Find More Posts by scole
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2015, 07:34 PM
David2011 is offline
Find More Posts by David2011
Registered User
United States, NM, Hobbs
Joined Oct 2011
238 Posts
A picture would help. A gap shouldn't be necessary and is not a good thing. Is the leading edge of the elevator rounded or a sharp point? It should be beveled to a "<" shape that comes to a point as viewed from the end. If rounded it will require a gap that can lead to flutter. Flutter can destroy the airframe suddenly and violently.

If I were fixing this myself I would cut the hinges, soak them with CA debonder (assuming you used CA) and fix the reason for the bind before putting it back together. Last time I replaced hinges I had to slide a #11 X-Acto blade between the balsa and hinges to help the debonder do its work. It's not a real fun job. I had to replace the rudder hinges on a giant gasoline powered Stick. It was a lot like work but necessary. The old hinges were failing.

David2011 is offline Find More Posts by David2011
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2015, 11:23 AM
KRProton is online now
Find More Posts by KRProton
Tim Lampe; Hobbico R&D
KRProton's Avatar
Champaign, IL
Joined Dec 2009
4,183 Posts
I recently did a re cover on an ARF. It required cutting all the CA hinges to separate the control surfaces. What I did for new hinges was to use a #11 blade to cut the old hinges out, then installed about 1/4" larger than the old hinges. I also used a 3/32" brass tube sharpened on the end in drill to cut holes centered on all the hinge slots. This allows CA to get all the way to the back of the hinge and the slot (and for most of the excess CA to flow into the channel - not onto the hinge gap).

If you scroll through my blog you'll catch some images of the hinges and hinge slots.

KRProton is online now Find More Posts by KRProton
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2015, 11:17 AM
Thermalin is offline
Find More Posts by Thermalin
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
Thermalin's Avatar
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,832 Posts
Scale.... do you have a pic..

Not matter how close you install surfaces, they should flex whether one side is rounded or both or a combination of bevel and round, etc. If you can take a shot from the side and top that would do wonders to provide assistance.

Personally I choose to cut them free if needed and install alongside...
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question can i use CA hinges instead of robart hinges on a 65" edge 540? out of stock 3D Flying 3 Dec 07, 2014 06:37 PM
Discussion Using epoxy on CA hinges Certacito Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 8 Oct 22, 2013 02:23 PM
Discussion CA hinges to Robart pin hinges p3arljam Fuel Plane Talk 21 Aug 05, 2013 06:27 PM
Question Pinned Hinges VS Hinge Points VS CA Hinges? bronicabill The Builders Workshop 35 Sep 03, 2008 01:23 AM
Discussion special CA for CA hinges? mcg The Builders Workshop 5 Jun 25, 2008 05:25 PM