HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Ghost 2501, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Mar 12, 2012, 03:06 AM
NeverAgainVolunteerYourse lf
nick_75au's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Regents Park
Joined Mar 2007
3,732 Posts
Well it depends,what size props, how fast you want to go, what KV is the motor?
Too many variables to answer the question without more Info

The battery has a rating, something like 20C this is the maximum draw the battery can handle, Higher mAH or higher C ratings allow higher to be drawn from the battery. If you exceed the C rating, which for a 20C 4500mAH battery is 90 amps you risk damaging the battery and possibly causing more damage than just the battery.

This Link will go to a page that answers a lot of questions on Li-po.


Cheers
Nick
nick_75au is offline Find More Posts by nick_75au
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 12, 2012, 03:17 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Alpena
Joined Jan 2012
13 Posts
Its for a quad copter... my first attempt is going to be with 13x6 props. The thing is made out of PVC pipe.... dont need it to go fast ...just fly with some weight
moonmist is offline Find More Posts by moonmist
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 03:18 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Alpena
Joined Jan 2012
13 Posts
710 kv motor
moonmist is offline Find More Posts by moonmist
Last edited by moonmist; Mar 12, 2012 at 03:19 AM. Reason: Mistake
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 03:26 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Alpena
Joined Jan 2012
13 Posts
Im also using 50amp esc
moonmist is offline Find More Posts by moonmist
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 10:54 AM
I Am a Proud Registered User
United States, MA, Hamilton
Joined Sep 2012
219 Posts
im doing the 2 motor one esc method but i have no rudder so turning works by one motor going and not the other if i put in an esc will that still work? and do i need the fuses?
mass flyer is offline Find More Posts by mass flyer
Last edited by mass flyer; Oct 29, 2012 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 03:10 PM
Registered User
Blackpool, Lancs
Joined Feb 2006
3,006 Posts
Tank steering with one ESC and 2 motors needs a bunch of switches, possibly combined with rectifiers, worked by what would have been the rudder servo, and the entire question really belongs in its own thread. Yes, fuses will be needed.
mfr02 is offline Find More Posts by mfr02
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 11:05 AM
I am 5' 8" the Taube is 7' 4"
Clancy Arnold's Avatar
USA, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Jan 2008
627 Posts
I solved the same problem!

You can not control two motors from one ESC without problems. You need two ESCs separately controlled.

I have an ESC, Black units, controlling each motor. The ESCs are controlled by U/Tronics Control single channel units, small Red pieces, that are controlled by a mechanical mixer I built.

The upper servo is the throttle and moves the brass plate, that runs in tracks, that the slide pots are mounted on to move both slide pots equally. The lower servo is the steering and moves the slide pot controls in opposite directions.

I disabled the BEC on one ESC and the two U/T units and the receiver, through a Y cable, are powered by the other ESC.
Clancy
Clancy Arnold is offline Find More Posts by Clancy Arnold
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:19 PM
I am 5' 8" the Taube is 7' 4"
Clancy Arnold's Avatar
USA, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Jan 2008
627 Posts
Boat Mixer rudderless

I posted a picture of the Boat mixer I built. Here is a schematic of the mixer and how it works.
Clancy
Clancy Arnold is offline Find More Posts by Clancy Arnold
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 03:00 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
5 Posts
Circuitry for my boat

I am designing a RC naval type corvette with the following specs with regard to electronics. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1801355 to main thread of my boat.

1x 2 axis turret for air cannon
1x electrically actuated valve for cannon

2x small liquid pumps (I know what model I am getting for this)
1x nicrome wire coil to be powered when pumps are engaged

1x 2 axis turret for hobby rockets

4x nicrome wire coil for rocket turrets
1x pair of nicrome wire coils for home made smoke generator
1x nicrome wire coil on stern for fake depth charge rack
^these coils need to be set up so they can be selected with a 6 way switch or something so they can be powered separately. All coils on boat to be powered from same battery bank

1x push solenoid for fake depth charge rack

2x motors for hydrojet propulsion with ESC
1x rudder servo


Attached is my attempt at a layout diagram. I am new to RC stuff so I am not 100% clear on how everything need to be wired up.

Any help in the form of component recommendations and a proper layout diagram would be much appreciated
minerug is offline Find More Posts by minerug
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 06:27 AM
Registered User
Blackpool, Lancs
Joined Feb 2006
3,006 Posts
Reading the first few posts in this thread will help a lot with understanding the schematic conventions used.
Reading through the more recent posts on "Well Enhancer" might help with control of the "extras", the earlier parts of that thread might help with the basic construction of a large model.
mfr02 is offline Find More Posts by mfr02
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 03:24 AM
Registered User
Ticonderoga's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Mudgeeraba
Joined Feb 2010
257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by minerug View Post

1x 2 axis turret for air cannon
1x electrically actuated valve for cannon

2x small liquid pumps (I know what model I am getting for this)
1x nicrome wire coil to be powered when pumps are engaged

1x 2 axis turret for hobby rockets

4x nicrome wire coil for rocket turrets
1x pair of nicrome wire coils for home made smoke generator
1x nicrome wire coil on stern for fake depth charge rack
^these coils need to be set up so they can be selected with a 6 way switch or something so they can be powered separately. All coils on boat to be powered from same battery bank

1x push solenoid for fake depth charge rack

2x motors for hydrojet propulsion with ESC
1x rudder servo


Attached is my attempt at a layout diagram. I am new to RC stuff so I am not 100% clear on how everything need to be wired up.

Any help in the form of component recommendations and a proper layout diagram would be much appreciated
From your sketch it looks like you are going to need plenty of channels on your radio

You might be able to ease the complexity of the overall system a little by using a small on board computer, something like an Arduino Uno or Mega. They are not very expensive and are relatively easy to programme. By using a combination of Switches and pots on your transmitter, you could arrange for the Arduino to "manage" your pyrotechnics. The Arduino can handle digital and analog input/output and can be "trained" to interpret and issue servo control commands. Take a look at http://arduino.cc/en

I am going to use an Arduino to simulate a Gun Fire Control System on my large scale Russian Cruiser
Andrew
Ticonderoga is offline Find More Posts by Ticonderoga
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 05:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
5 Posts
Hi Andrew,

Arduino sounds like it could be an option
One idea I had last night was to make a separate 6ch transmitter/rx system to control all the nichrome goodness, just with a bunch on push-to-make switches on it.

If all else fails, I came across this- http://www.robbe.de/f-14-4-8-3-40-mh..._from_store=de can be expanded up to 16 channels
minerug is offline Find More Posts by minerug
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 08:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
918 Posts
hey guys I need some help I put a dumas 4.8v motor in my tug and I was using 2s 7.4v 2200MAH packs but I am only getting around 17 min of run time. I then put a small motor with a 4 to one planetary drive to increase run time but now it doesn't have enough speed. could I switch out to a brushless motor to increase the speed? I was thinking maybe a small outrunner.
hazegry is offline Find More Posts by hazegry
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 10:16 PM
NeverAgainVolunteerYourse lf
nick_75au's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Regents Park
Joined Mar 2007
3,732 Posts
Simplest solution is to go to 3s if the esc can handle it.
you need an rpm somewhere in between the dumas and other setup. do you know the rpm of each motor?
nick_75au is offline Find More Posts by nick_75au
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2013, 07:15 PM
P31
Registered User
United States, WA, Spanaway
Joined Dec 2011
600 Posts
Hi guy's I have a Linear BEC and I have no idea what they are used for.
Gary
P31 is offline Find More Posts by P31
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silicone hinge made easy. gator Electric Sailplanes 4 Feb 06, 2003 08:53 AM