HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 21, 2014, 12:42 PM
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
Discussion
Getting back into RC

Hi all!
Im a returning rc pilot and it must be about 10-12 years ago since i last flew an rc plane.
The Hangar 9 P-47D-1 60´size is just to hard to resist hehe

The thing is, i have never flew an scale warbird before. ive got plenty of stick time in trainers and 15 size combat planes. i have some stick time in an 60 size akromaster aswell.

My plan is to dust off an old trainer just to get back in the saddle. buy a 2.4ghz futaba radio. And ive been looking at the hangar 9 40 sizeP-51 to get used with retracts and flaps. what do you guys say, would it be to early to get the P-51?
My goal is to fly the p47 in maybe a year or two.
fille_swe is offline Find More Posts by fille_swe
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 21, 2014, 03:36 PM
United States, TX, Haltom City
Joined Mar 2013
601 Posts
Just my opinion here but if you've flown before, I'd think it would like riding the proverbial bicycle. You don't forget.
You might be a little rusty, but I don't think it will take two years for you to move up to the P-47 unless you only fly a few times a year.
Your thinking of trainer to P-51 to P-47 seems OK to me.
Martin5465 is offline Find More Posts by Martin5465
Old Sep 21, 2014, 06:40 PM
USA, AZ, Phoenix
Joined May 2003
3,370 Posts
What size plane are you considering - and also which power system (Glow or Electric)?
tailskid2 is offline Find More Posts by tailskid2
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 22, 2014, 11:13 AM
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
Thanks for answers. The P-51 is he 40 size arf and the P-47 is the Hangar 9 60 size.
Fo the P-51 i was thinking to go either Electric or 2stroke glow. For the P-47 im considering a saito 4 stroke.
Old Sep 22, 2014, 01:07 PM
2 Fast 2 Low & 2 Loud
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Nov 2011
3,236 Posts