HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 15, 2014, 07:10 PM
Joined Jul 2013
21 Posts
Question
Worth cleaning up these diesel engines?

Hi all, I have inherited a couple of fairly old diesel engines and interested in getting at least one back in the air.

I have zero experience with diesel engines as I fly primarily large petrol models and gliders but love a good build and these little engines have piqued my interest.

I gather the larger engine is a Mill's 1.3? (which I am mostly interested in) but not sure what the smaller one is, it looks more modern than the other.
Clearly both engines are in serious need of a clean up but turn freely and seem largely intact.

What I would love to know:

Is it worth cleaning up either of these?
Could someone help me confirm the ID of these engines?
If I got one or both running what sort of vintage airframe would suit? I imagine these were originally used in free flight models (1950's?)
What sort/brand of fuel is suitable for these engines? The documents refer to Diesel 2 Modelair fuel which of course is no longer available

Any assistance much appreciated.
MaXziim is offline Find More Posts by MaXziim
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 15, 2014, 09:40 PM
Gold Coast Australia.
Joined Jan 2005
2,465 Posts
The big one is indeed an original Mills 1.3cc from the late '40s or '50s.......If you put the numbers here that are on the lugs we can tell you the year more that likely.
The missing fuel bowl should be not hard to get, and the screw on the front of the crankshaft is a BA size.

The small one is a DC Merlin, .75cc that first came out in 1954. Both engines made in England.

Soak them in acetone for a start, and scrub them with a tooth brush.

Good fuel for them is equal parts of ether, Kerosene and castor oil.

There are heaps of models from the '40s/'50s that will suit either engine. Just check the plans section on this site.
gossie is online now Find More Posts by gossie
Old Jun 15, 2014, 10:25 PM
Joined Jul 2013
21 Posts