HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 04, 2012, 02:24 PM
United States, CA, Rocklin
Joined Sep 2012
14 Posts
Discussion
Pike Perfect or Explorer 3.5 or Supra?

I'm a rookie who will start TD competitions next year. I've done a couple ALES contests with my Radian. I want to buy a full house TD plane.

Local club members have offered up a Pike Perfect, an Xplorer 3.5 (2010 model), and a Supra. The price: $1600, $1200, and $1100 respectively.

All are in top notch condition, great owners. Members have been magnanimous and say all three are good planes, plenty of room to grow, etc.

So, for fun, I thought I'd throw it out here and see which one YOU would recommend and why.

Thanks!

Mitch
U2Milo is offline Find More Posts by U2Milo
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 04, 2012, 03:13 PM
Sherpa
La Quinta, Ca.
Joined Sep 2003
1,622 Posts
As your club members have said... all 3 planes are very good at TD. I would recommend if they will let you is to fly each one and see which plane fits your style of flying. I have flown the Pike and Xplorer. Each flies very nice but each also has advantages and disadvantages over the others. So it really depends on which plane you like best after test flying them. This question will have many answers but it all comes down to your choice.

Good luck.
Sherpa
Schwemmer is offline Find More Posts by Schwemmer
Old Nov 04, 2012, 03:44 PM
Dragons, Windmills. All Same.
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined May 2002
3,759 Posts
Excellent points made by Sherpa.

Of your three presented choices, Supra. Easy to fly and preforms very well, plus it's the cheapest.
I still miss my Supra #38 or so, from time to time.

Jared
jcstalls is offline Find More Posts by jcstalls
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 04, 2012, 05:18 PM
Mark LSF # 3792
United States, TX, Garland
Joined Nov 2008
539 Posts