Old Jan 20, 2008, 09:18 PM
To Soar Like An Eagle!
Canada, ON, Woodstock
Joined Dec 2007
6,495 Posts
Discussion
My Scratch Build Harbor Tug

Hi:

I am new to this forum althought I have been posting in the multi rotor heli forum for a couple of months.

I scratch build a model of an 85" harbor tug about 15 years ago. It is about 37 inches in length and was build using plans from the Model Builder magazine. These were full size plans and I still have the plans.

The hull is fibreglass over wood, the decks are aluminum and the deckhouse sides are aluminum. To give the tug more control in reverse and to protect the prop from floating debris I made a kort nozzle,

At present I am in the process of replacing the speed control with an electronic one.
frieslander is online now Find More Posts by frieslander
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2008, 11:19 PM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
13,810 Posts
Neat tug, Frieslander! The speed controller you made is also neat- though at this point, it belongs in a science fair!
Aerominded is online now Find More Posts by Aerominded
Old Jan 20, 2008, 11:48 PM
USA'd ex Brit
Back.. In California
Joined Aug 2006
5,780 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frieslander
I scratch build a model of an 85" harbor tug about 15 years ago. It is about 37 inches in length and was build using plans from the Model Builder magazine. These were full size plans and I still have the plans.
Welcome Frieslander.

That 85' Tug looks kinda familiar..
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=658295

Is it going to be a refurb from the rudder up?.. or just a tidy up?..
toesup is offline Find More Posts by toesup
Old Jan 21, 2008, 12:30 AM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
22,866 Posts
frieslander: Awesome tug! And welcome to the scale boat forum!
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Jan 21, 2008, 10:07 AM
To Soar Like An Eagle!
Canada, ON, Woodstock
Joined Dec 2007
6,495 Posts
Hi Guys: