HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 12, 2013, 08:49 PM
United States, CT
Joined Jan 2013
118 Posts
Build Log
EF-111A twin 64mm

I'm fairly new to RC flying, but I've dabbled in RC and other modeling off and on my entire adult life (and most of my childhood.) I've built a number of planes over the years -- usually balsa and ply covered with tissue or Monokote -- but I had never succeeded in flying any of these more than once or twice before premature contact with the ground resulted in splintered wood and torn coverings. Some never even made it that far -- I recall spending weeks building a gorgeous tissue covered free-flight scale Spitfire only to have my grandfather inadvertently sit on it.

I recently reentered the hobby and discovered a metamorphosis has been brought about by the combination of outrunner electric motors and Lipo batteries. I bought myself an MX2 airfoil kit from FancyFoam (EPS, not Depron) and have succeeded in learning to fly it. Flying an RC plane more than once is a new experience for me, and I am quite enjoying it. Aside from the occasional encounter with the magnetic trees that seem to grow around here, I am able to fly my MX2 around fairly capably. No 3D yet, but it goes where I want it to and I can roll it, inside/ outside loop it, and land it. That it is still in one piece after 20+ flights is a testament not only to lightweight foam construction, but also to the decent RC simulator (Phoenix) that I practiced on during the winter.

Although I consider myself a rank novice where it comes to flying RC planes, I do have actual aviation experience. I spent the 1980s flying EF-111s at Mt Home AFB and RAF Upper Heyford as an EWO. It seems only natural that I build an EDF F-111 or -- better yet -- an EF-111A. My RC flying skills are not currently up to flying such a model, but they will improve and in the meantime, I can start building it.