HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 25, 2012, 08:46 AM
Nashville TN
Joined Jan 2007
281 Posts
Discussion
Best Glue for Giant Scale ???

Hi, going to start a Lainer Stinger 120 soon and it has the balsa over foam core wings.....what would be my best choice of glue on the foam/balsa?
Also, on the airframe would "TiteBond 2 " be ok ? Or should I use CA ? The CA is harder to sand for me. Or if there is better choice please let me know. I have read alot of " glue " debates here but most of that was on 40 size planes, and I'm new to the giant scale ....just want to build it strong and safe.
Thanks,
Eng30
eng30 is offline Find More Posts by eng30
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:20 AM
United States, NC, Faison
Joined Jan 2011
687 Posts
I built the Lanier CAP 232 1.60 and I used Tite Bond II for the foam cores. Takes alot of glue! I had a small roller for paint with a foam roller and just rolled it out onto the foam and set the skins on it. Make sure you use a good flat surface and alot of weight on the foam skins. Also it is best to do them one at a time and not stack them ontop of each other. As for the rest of the frame medium or thick CA. As for firefall, wing bolt plates and triangle stocks I used either 5 minute or 30 minute epoxy.

Heres a time saver too. I used foam safe CA on all the leading and trailing edge stock. You could also used 5 min epoxy or the Tite Bond II just takes a little longer to set up.

One more tip! When you cut out the control surfaces..... I used my table saw! Made it very easy and kept them straight! I finished the cuts with a miter box hand saw.
rjstrickjr is offline Find More Posts by rjstrickjr
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:26 AM
United States, MD, Elkton
Joined Oct 2011
8,818 Posts
We stir this 'pot' occasionally here....A glue joint is a glue joint whether a giant or not.