SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 14, 2012, 08:42 AM
United States, OH, Avon
Joined Apr 2011
117 Posts
Discussion
first time inverted engine

I have been building a corsair 60 ARF and am running a evo.61NX Engine that is mounted inverted..Got it running for the first time the other day and tuned seems to run awesome...But as i was putting the plane away i noticed that if you roll the plane to far to the right (the side which the exhaust is on) then fuel just pores out the exhuast..i guess this will be a major problem while flying but im still kinda new to this... any thoughts?
stevolution is offline Find More Posts by stevolution
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2012, 08:50 AM
United States, MN, Faribault
Joined Mar 2012
23 Posts
The "fuel" pouring out of the exhaust is just unburned oil. Think of it as a good thing, unless someone with more experience knows better.
Skeletor507 is offline Find More Posts by Skeletor507
Old Apr 14, 2012, 11:42 AM
Gas Only
USA So. Cal.
Joined Sep 2010
1,078 Posts
It is most likely that your muffler outlet is not rotated to a low point and oil accumulates there until you turn the plane on it's side. It is not a problem and will not affect how the engine runs. Only problem is if it drips on your carpet a wife can become very unhappy.
Fokker DII is offline Find More Posts by Fokker DII
Old Apr 15, 2012, 07:09 AM
United States, OH, Avon
Joined Apr 2011
117 Posts
This is not just a drip though..I only held it on its side for a moment but its like a steady stream..seems a bit much for just some unburned oil..
Old Apr 15, 2012, 07:39 AM
United States, TX, Leander
Joined Sep 2003
2,670 Posts
Just need to be sure, did you fully drain your tank?
Edwin
edwin1 is online now Find More Posts by edwin1
Old Apr 15, 2012, 08:21 AM
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
13,143 Posts