Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Apr 16, 2014, 07:32 PM
United States, OH, Tipp City
Joined Jun 2002
1,051 Posts
Discussion
Radical RC Dave - Crowd Sourced Auto Gyro Mentoring - 10mm Madness

I know, the title is over the top. ;-)

OK - Here is the deal. I'm a very experienced modeler and designer but a very green auto gyro enthusiast. I've been trying to learn Auto-Gyros to expand my modeling horizons. I've always been fascinated with them. In fact, if you dig, you'll find a video I made a number of years ago of a very cool model. This was the first time my interest was kindled. The fire went out until recently. It's now a full on blaze! I feel I'm making every possible mistake, some of them several times. I have no local mentor to look at my stuff and straighten out all my rookie errors.

So, I'm going to have a little fun and, learn in a bare naked fashion.

As many of you may know, I design model airplanes, tools, totes and other things made by laser. I really enjoy doing this. Most of the things I make are really my own scratch built projects. I just do the making on a laser so when I've perfected the project, I can share it with others as a new product.

I want to have a large impact on the Auto-Gyro world like we have in the Slow Stick world.

I've been designing parts all based around the 10mm square boom. There are many options here for the boom material. Wood, Carbon, Glass and aluminum.

So far I've designed a head, blade tangs, fully articulated gimbal and fuse crutch. My head should bolt right in place of the fragile Dura Fly head. I'd like at least one person to try that out. Are my parts correct? Too soft or too stiff? etc....

In my series of mistakes, I've put these parts into the ground over 50mph several times and have yet to break any of them. I'm almost ready to call them indestructible. However, I may prove myself wrong soon if I don't get a handle on the setup. ;-) We've had a number of very promising successful flights also.