HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 06, 2014, 04:16 PM
Just Plane Nuts
USA, NC, Southern Pines
Joined Dec 2008
389 Posts
Question
Astro 05 FAI Racing Motor - brushed

I have gotten an older Astro 05 FAI Racing Motor with gearbox (about 3:1) and 80 amp brushed ESC. I have run it on 3S with a wood 9 X 6 and taken it up to 375 watts. It definitely needs some cooling, but I expect it could put out more power under the right conditions.

I'd like to put this in an old-timer to fly just for fun. While I have done a lot of brushless stuff, this is my first time in dealing with a brushed motor of this size.

I don't know if these have a KV rating or how you pick a prop and determine the operating conditions, other than watching the current and case temperature to keep from smoking it.

Any data or ideas would be welcome.
Louierc is offline Find More Posts by Louierc
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 06, 2014, 04:28 PM
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,197 Posts
See if you can pick your one out here: http://brantuas.com/ezcalc/dma1.asp They came in 5T, 6T, 7T flavors.

I saw this: The 05's will do about 350-400W allegedly. Cobalt takes the heat well.
Dr Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Old Mar 06, 2014, 06:36 PM
Senile Member
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
5,862 Posts
Here ya go, straight from Astro Bob.

Larry
Lnagel is offline Find More Posts by Lnagel
Old Mar 06, 2014, 07:11 PM
Joined May 2003
27,197 Posts
Not saying I know anything about these motors , but whoa, that is a hellishly high Io isn't it? I'm also surprised by the efficiency curve.. if you look at efficiency curves in DriveCalc most motors peak at perhaps 20% of max amps... this one is >50%.
Old Mar 06, 2014, 08:54 PM
Just Plane Nuts
USA, NC, Southern Pines
Joined Dec 2008
389 Posts