HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 12, 2014, 11:42 AM
Sweden, Dalarna County, Sälen
Joined Apr 2007
159 Posts
Build Log
1.6m F3F racer From CAD to Mold to Plane

New year new projects!
I thought it was time to test my new invested cnc machine and what better to do when draw up 1,6meter slope racer and mill some molds?
Im a completly newbie to everything from cad drawing to cnc milling but not composite construction. So i hope in some help from all of you out there to push me forward in this project.

The plane is going to be a v-tail around 1,6m wingspan 2piece wing. Home brewed airfoils from 10% at the rot to 7,8% from the middle of the wing to wing rot. 10% You say? Yepp thats right. The reason for this is that im going to mount the wing servos in the wing rot to get an easy acces and have a completley built in linkage without using rds. Im throwing up the airfoils on here so that you can judge them yourself. But i think succeded pretty well. As my maximum x tevel on my cnc machine is 830mm the fuse is also going to be a 2piece construction. Splitted just aft of the wing with the tail servos mounted in the aft part to get easy acces to the servos even here and to be able to actually have it as a 2piece constrution. Ballast tube will be moulded in the aft part.

I upload some pictures on my drawing so far and hopefully im going to mill the v tail molds on thursday or friday if everything goes as planned.
Please feel free fill in with questions, suggestions, comments and kind words to push me forward with this project
Airman87 is offline Find More Posts by Airman87
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2014, 02:14 PM
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Jul 2004
1,462 Posts
I want to see this as.of progresses. Please keep posting as it goes.

Jim
Tehachapi Jim is offline Find More Posts by Tehachapi Jim
Old Jan 12, 2014, 03:14 PM
Joined Apr 2007
159 Posts
I will try to keep up the posting here. And if i dont. Please remind me to do so!