HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2010, 07:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2008
28 Posts
Question
Optima 6 - SPC Voltage available?

I already know the Optima 6 does not have the Data Port for telemetry, however;
Does it still have the SPC port, and does it send the SPC voltage back to the transmitter?
RJSC is offline Find More Posts by RJSC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2010, 02:23 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,015 Posts
send back = telemetry, so no such feature, sorry
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2010, 09:51 AM
Hitec service
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
San Diego
Joined Nov 2004
687 Posts
The battery voltage telemetry is built into the receiver/module so you would get the receiver voltage even withthe Optima 6.
BRENDAN LUGO is offline Find More Posts by BRENDAN LUGO
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2010, 01:30 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,015 Posts
Sorry, don't understand, there was stated that telemetry as whole is not a feature of Optima 6, not data port only...
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2010, 05:14 PM
Hitec service
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
San Diego
Joined Nov 2004
687 Posts
It does not support the add on telemetry features but does still have the receiver voltage telemetry function.
BRENDAN LUGO is offline Find More Posts by BRENDAN LUGO
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 04:24 PM
Registered User
FlyinLo's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
370 Posts
Brendan, with the Optima 6 will the Aurora 9 only show you small receiver pack voltage or can it show you 3+ cell voltage for an electric aircraft flight battery?
FlyinLo is offline Find More Posts by FlyinLo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2010, 05:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyinLo View Post
Brendan, with the Optima 6 will the Aurora 9 only show you small receiver pack voltage or can it show you 3+ cell voltage for an electric aircraft flight battery?
Optima 6, like big brothers 7 & 9, sends SPC Voltage to the Aurora screen in lieu of that of any battery plugged into servo side of transceiver.
Optima Receiver - SPC connection & Lead Detailed plus Optima Current Draw/Amps

Aurora A9, Spectra Pro & Optima - FAQ & Undocumented Features - Mixes, Setups, Tips. {frequently updated]

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Last edited by A.T.; Jun 12, 2010 at 03:24 PM. Reason: add .jpg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:01 PM
Registered User
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Joined Jan 2010
455 Posts
My apologies for resurrecting such an old thread but I can't fine any answers. I just ordered the Aurora 9 and was wondering if there's a way to receive the battery voltage if using only one receiver battery? Can you make a Y-cable and connect to the SPC port with positive/negative only?

Is there any way possible to use one RX battery and get the voltage info sent to the Aurora 9?
bicyclemonkey is offline Find More Posts by bicyclemonkey
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicyclemonkey View Post
My apologies for resurrecting such an old thread but I can't fine any answers.
I just ordered the Aurora 9 and was wondering if there's a way to receive the battery voltage if using only one receiver battery?
Can you make a Y-cable and connect to the SPC port with positive/negative only?
Is there any way possible to use one RX battery and get the voltage info sent to the Aurora 9?
SPC does not control the battery telemetry, it is simply one of two methods in which either the transceiver's
EP power pack or a GP battery supply voltage can be returned.

Please refer to:

. Optima Transceiver (RX) - SPC connection & Lead FAQ for EP & GP models - with schematics and Photos.
...Low & High Voltage setup, Current Draw/Amps - Warning: Never use Balance Taps - Video


. Optima Transceiver (RX) - EP Models Use SPC Port for RX Power Supply (BEC only is unreliable) & correct Battery Telemetry.

. Optima Transceiver (RX) - Battery set up for Nitro/Gas models #1 - caution re NiMH & Alert re LiFE.

. Optima Transceiver (RX) - Polarity of Ports & Servo Leads - with pictures.

and much more under Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, AFHSS Spectra Modules, Optima Transceivers, Minima Receivers
& Telemetry
- FAQ & Undocumented Features
- Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:22 PM
Registered User
bicyclemonkey's Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Joined Jan 2010
455 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T. View Post
SPC does not control the battery telemetry, it is simply one of two methods in which either the transceiver's
EP power pack or a GP battery supply voltage can be returned.
OK, so if on my GP model, if the RX battery is plugged into the side that controls the servos, I'll still get the battery voltage displayed on the transmitter?
bicyclemonkey is offline Find More Posts by bicyclemonkey
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:40 AM
Registered User
E-Challenged's Avatar
United States, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Oct 2000
11,363 Posts
There is You Tube video that shows how to get both receiver and motor battey readouts on an A-9 screen using an on board current sensor and telemetry return device. Don't ask me how it works.
E-Challenged is offline Find More Posts by E-Challenged
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:10 PM
Registered User
dpelletier's Avatar
USA, MA, Maynard
Joined Jul 2010
108 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Challenged View Post
There is You Tube video that shows how to get both receiver and motor battey readouts on an A-9 screen using an on board current sensor and telemetry return device. Don't ask me how it works.
But you can not do that with an Optima 6.
Optima 6 will send you the voltage of either:
a. whatever is plugged into the SPC port

or

b. The voltage feeding the servo rail If the SPC port has its "bind connector" in
dpelletier is offline Find More Posts by dpelletier
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Optima 6 receiver problem TomM Radios 1 Jan 23, 2010 01:04 PM
Sold Hitec Optic 6 2.4 with (2) 7 ch. Optima receivers NEW Steve_O Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jan 15, 2010 07:13 AM
New Product Hitec TX Optic 6 2.4GHz with 2 optima 7ch RX's supi7 JR Indoor Electric Festival 0 Nov 06, 2009 07:15 PM
Discussion Optima Battery Voltage podrieger Sailplane Talk 14 Jul 08, 2009 03:15 AM
Discussion Optima receiver voltage CyberPilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Jul 06, 2009 05:53 PM