HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,095 Posts
Discussion
FAQ - Powerlab6 vs Powerlab8

Here are the differences between PL6 and PL8:

Both the Powerlab6 and the Powerlab8 can do 1008 watts with 6s. The Powerlab8 goes up to 1344 watts with 8s packs. On the commonly available server supplies running 24v, the Powerlab6 will give you 860 watts.  Where as the Powerlab8 still gives the full 1008. Charging 1s through 5s packs, both units will max out at the full 40 amps to the packs. The reason for this is the Powerlab6 has a 40 amp input limit vs the 60 amp input limit on the Powerlab8.
 
The Powerlab8 has 100 watts of discharge capabilities, where the Powerlab6 is capable of 50 watts of discharge. The Powerlab6 is considerably smaller than the Powerlab8 which can be a factor when building a charging case. Comparison pictures can be seen here
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=62
 
The other thing that may be important to some is the Powerlab8 can charge without the main leads (balance connector only). The Powerlab6 requires both charge leads and balance tap to charge. This also means to charge 1s cells over 2 amps with the Powerlab6 you will need to attach a balance cable in parallel to the main charge leads. With the Powerlab8 you can charge 1s up to 40 amps through the main leads without a balance connector using FMA wiring mode. Or up to 3 amps through the balance connector without main leads. In JST-XH wiring mode the Powerlab8 operates like the Powerlab6 and does require a balance cable for 1s charging using a balanced preset.

The Powerlab6 has one fan and the Powerlab8 has two fans (thanx apper001)
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Gregor99; Jan 26, 2013 at 07:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
41 Posts
- PL 6 has only one ventilator
- you can charge 1S/2S unbalanced with preset "1S/2S unbalanced", will check tonight with how much Amps
Yep: max. 2Amps with 1S

don't know if there are any firmware differences?!
apper001 is offline Find More Posts by apper001
Last edited by apper001; Jan 15, 2013 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:22 AM
Registered User
traxx de maxx's Avatar
uk
Joined Nov 2010
410 Posts
Cool Gregor, i thought the only main difference was the extra 2cells and the extra discharge on the PL8,
Charging through the balance wires only mine only goes upto 2A, not over, Profile 5&6.
Am i using an older software with the PL8
traxx de maxx is offline Find More Posts by traxx de maxx
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:02 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,095 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by traxx de maxx View Post
Charging through the balance wires only mine only goes upto 2A, not over, Profile 5&6.
The small balanced and small unbalanced presets are capped at 2 amps. Use one of the other presets such as preset 1 to charge up to 3 amps through the balance leads.

This does require the "use bananas" prompt at startup. For fewer setting confirmations at startup, I disable that in the options. But it also means I cannot charge through the balance leads without main leads. This is not an issue as I don't use that feature. However I do charge 1s through the main leads all the time above 2 amps.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
5 Posts
Does the PL6 have the same balancing power, 1amp, as the PL8?
MaxdOut is offline Find More Posts by MaxdOut
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 10:48 AM
President, FMA, Inc.
Tim Marks's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
1,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxdOut View Post
Does the PL6 have the same balancing power, 1amp, as the PL8?
Hi:

Yes. The Cellpro 10s and Cellpro 10XP also do.

Tim Marks
Tim Marks is offline Find More Posts by Tim Marks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
5 Posts
Tim, thanks for the response. I am going to pick up one of the two just don't know which yet.
MaxdOut is offline Find More Posts by MaxdOut
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:37 AM
On loan to Texas
Ohio AV8TOR's Avatar
United States, TX, Benbrook
Joined Oct 2005
5,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post

Both the Powerlab6 and the Powerlab8 can do 1008 watts with 6s. On the commonly available server supplies running 24v,

the Powerlab6 will give you 860 watts. 

Charging 1s through 5s packs, both units will max out at the full 40 amps to the packs. The reason for this is the Powerlab6 has a 40 amp input limit vs the 60 amp input limit on the Powerlab8.
For the PL6 to do 1008 watts on 6S it needs 30v, @24v it is 32.3A

Not 860 watts but 816 watts

Its not 1S through 5S to max out at 40A it is 1S through 4S, as 5S is 38.8A

I have not yet bought mine yet but this is what is being reported on the Revolectrix web site here
Ohio AV8TOR is online now Find More Posts by Ohio AV8TOR
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:04 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,095 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio AV8TOR View Post
For the PL6 to do 1008 watts on 6S it needs 30v, @24v it is 32.3A

Not 860 watts but 816 watts

Its not 1S through 5S to max out at 40A it is 1S through 4S, as 5S is 38.8A

I have not yet bought mine yet but this is what is being reported on the Revolectrix web site here
That uses a very conservative 85% efficiency. However real world test results show the efficiency is above 90% which supports my statements above. This means that 28v is all that is required to max out the Powerlab6 on 6s. Here are my test results using two DPS-600pb supplies (24v). More on this test and comparison to other chargers here.

Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Gregor99; Feb 04, 2013 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:34 PM
Registered User
Brazil, São Paulo, Campinas
Joined Apr 2010
62 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
That uses a very conservative 85% efficiency. However real world test results show the efficiency is above 90% which supports my statements above.
My tests say the same.. The higher the voltage, the better its efficiency (I guess the buck converter is more efficient then the boost one).
In 24V you get about 92% to 94% of efficiency.

Best Regards.

Alex.
SkyRaptor is offline Find More Posts by SkyRaptor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 05:56 PM
On loan to Texas
Ohio AV8TOR's Avatar
United States, TX, Benbrook
Joined Oct 2005
5,045 Posts
Still have not ordered mine yet but will. I have been home sick with the flu this weekend so I downloaded the CCS and have been playing around a little and I like how you can configure the presets. Can you guys share what custom presets you have set up and how you take advantage of them. Having not yet used the charger I am guessing on it's menu flow but I set up a custom preset for my 6S packs one in 2C and one in 3C thinking that I just enter the parallel option and just go from there. I also did this on my smaller Lipo's as well. I moved off a copy of the original preset to the library to keep it perserved.
Ohio AV8TOR is online now Find More Posts by Ohio AV8TOR
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:51 AM
On loan to Texas
Ohio AV8TOR's Avatar
United States, TX, Benbrook
Joined Oct 2005
5,045 Posts
I would like to get the MPA but I have a slew of balance cables from 2-6. Using the FMA PL8 GP/KO Std Adapter can you then add a Parallel (2x or 6X) balance cable to do parallel charging such as the setup below? If so what Node connector wire position is used FMA or XH/EH?
Ohio AV8TOR is online now Find More Posts by Ohio AV8TOR
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 12:06 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,095 Posts
You can use the single pack adapter, then daisy chain a squid. Though it will work, I would not recommend it. The squids are not fused and sparks can happen. You think it will never happen to you. But sooner or later.......

The other thing I don't like is daisy chaining adapters. Its bulky and adds complexity when attempting to trouble shoot failures.

The wiring mode for that configuration would be FMA.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 10:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
6 Posts
have you compared the iCharger 4010
http://www.progressiverc.com/icharger-4010duo.html
1400 watt per port (2000 watt limit)

130 watt discharge per port (200 watt limit)
Toast. is offline Find More Posts by Toast.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 01:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
41 Posts
have you seen what kind of special power supply you need for the 4010 to get the 1400 watts....
apper001 is offline Find More Posts by apper001
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FMA Powerlab6 ,Cells no add up message? shadco Batteries and Chargers 15 Jun 01, 2012 10:37 AM
Discussion PowerLab8 - Error Safety Code 82 - 'Amps out of Range' martinwinlow FMA Direct 3 Apr 08, 2012 10:48 AM
Discussion Does Powerlab8 CCS Display Safety Codes? martinwinlow FMA Direct 1 Apr 06, 2012 08:56 AM
Discussion Blown Cellpro PowerLab8 martinwinlow FMA Direct 14 Apr 03, 2012 12:01 AM
Discussion PowerLab6..Need the Combo or Not? HITMAN808 Batteries and Chargers 4 Mar 27, 2012 09:35 PM