HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 14, 2002, 06:03 PM
Use The Force Jim
Las Cruces, NM USA
Joined Jul 2001
2,341 Posts
What's your favorite way to do panel lines??

I'm doing a semi-scale Hawker Tempest and I want to take a stab at doing panel lines to add some realism. I'd appreciate any and all suggestions and pointers since I've never done this before. For instance, what's the best pens to use, how do you get the lines in the right place and straight, etc.....

Thanks, Jim
Jim Walker is offline Find More Posts by Jim Walker
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2002, 03:06 PM
Use The Force Jim
Las Cruces, NM USA
Joined Jul 2001
2,341 Posts
Doesn't anyone know how to do panel lines? What pens do you use? Do you use a piece of paper for a straight edge? Help.....
Old Nov 19, 2002, 03:57 PM
USA, MD, Bethesda
Joined Nov 2001
480 Posts
I am interested in this too, let me know what you find out. One article is in the September 1999 Model Airplane News, "How to Create Rivets and Panel Lines with MonoKote ~ Feature by Faye Stilley ~ September 1999, pg. 68" which article I do not have unfortunately and cannot find on the web. If anyone has this or knows of a source, it would be interesting if it could be posted perhaps - either the source or the article, a link to the latter maybe.

Another piece of information can be found in http://www.top-flite.com/reviews/topa0400-rcsi.html which discusses the making of a Top-Flite P-51. This article is "TOP FLITE GIANT P-51D MUSTANG ~ PRODUCT REVIEW ~ by Tony Nijhuis" and has the tag lines: "Reprinted with permission. November/December 1998 R/C Scale International Magazine." Within the article there are a few paragraphs on finishing which I, no doubt illegally, copy below:
--
. . . .