HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 10, 2008, 05:24 PM
Madison, WI
Joined Feb 2004
834 Posts
Discussion
Arming Switch?

I'm a relative newbie to electrics. When I'm at the field, why don't I see an arming switch on just about everyone's electric plane? Everyone turns on their transmitter, gets the right model (memory) punched up, makes sure the throttle stick is all the way down to no power and then plugs in the battery. It would seem to me that an arming switch would add an extra bit of safety in terms of plugging in the battery and turning on the transmitter. All of my glow planes have an on off switch. At a recent electric only fun fly one of our club members was getting ready to fly, something went wrong, and the motor suddendly started up and he got cut badly. I believe an arming switch would have prevented that. What am I not understanding here?
Fast Freddy is offline Find More Posts by Fast Freddy
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2008, 06:11 PM
turn, turn, turn.
Athol, Massachusetts
Joined Oct 2005
10,189 Posts
A charge jack/switch for a rx. battery is fine.

When using the bec in the esc for powering the rx. and servos, no cherge jack/switch is necessary.
Kenny Sharp is online now Find More Posts by Kenny Sharp
Old Aug 10, 2008, 06:22 PM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,248 Posts
Unless the switch is a large heavy one which completely disconnects the battery it will not prevent all possible cases of "something going wrong" and motors coming on unexpectedly. And adding a switch like that would be adding another failure point where something could go wrong.

So we all just treat a plane with the battery connected as armed (and dangerous)....and very few of us have any problems.

BTW you say your glow planes have an on-off switch....but on just about every glow plane I've owned or seen it's still possible to start the engine with it switched off. So it's not exactly much of a safety measure .

Steve