HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 08, 2012, 02:31 PM
Pass me some zip-ties!
HansAuf's Avatar
United States, FL, Gainesville
Joined Nov 2006
2,539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by er9xuser View Post
And F20A are not for 4S if I'm not wrong.
I'm using the F20A (SimonK) on 4S on 3 ships and they work perfect.
HansAuf is offline Find More Posts by HansAuf
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 12:53 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tascheri View Post
Hobbyking blueseries 40A BS40A.hex latest firmware flashed + bootloader. Runs very smooth on the bench

Just a reminder for people not using Lazy Zeros flash tool. You have to first burn the flash to free up the space for the bootloader.

Personally, Im having problems with LZs tool on W7. Extreme Burner works well for me.

Thanks guys!
I guess you have some Java problems. It is necessary to install Java 64bit on Win7 64bit.
Then it should work without any problem.

Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 02:49 AM
Kiwi in Germany
whakahere's Avatar
Germany
Joined Jun 2010
2,258 Posts
The lastest firmware does work with the NTM 1200kv motors. No more stalling in flight. The downside is that it does not stop dumb thumbs.
whakahere is online now Find More Posts by whakahere
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 12:32 PM
Fly like never crash as always
tascheri's Avatar
Rio de Janeiro
Joined Mar 2007
275 Posts
thx Cristian, will give it a try and report back.

on a side note, where can I find the car/boat .hex files??

side note 2: @SimonK how about a bike/skate FW w/ regenerative braking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
I guess you have some Java problems. It is necessary to install Java 64bit on Win7 64bit.
Then it should work without any problem.

Christian
tascheri is offline Find More Posts by tascheri
Last edited by tascheri; Oct 09, 2012 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 08:25 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tascheri View Post
on a side note, where can I find the car/boat .hex files??

side note 2: @SimonK how about a bike/skate FW w/ regenerative braking??
I've already tried it with an ebike motor. It works. Probably would want some better start algorithm for not jumping around as much when stalled (a heavy person takes longer to start than a propeller), but driving seems fine. The hard-coded duty limits need to be way stretched for an 18KV motor. No hardware current limiting (which most bike controllers spent a significant time doing) is probably a significant problem if actually used on a bike, but in theory could be overcome by math, to some extent. The only other adjustment I made was the timing advance -- lower seemed to make it more symmetric on the 'scope. Regen already works, from complementary PWM during drive and from pulsed braking.

However, all of these things can only currently be turned on or adjusted by editing tgy.asm and rebuilding, and with so many board, brake, reverse, etc., options, making a .hex for every case is not feasible. It's either going to have to be an EEPROM header and a bigger .hex file that can do everything dynamically, or some interface to spit out a .hex matching the desired options. There's more than enough flash space, I suppose, and pretty much everything can be or already is moved out of performance-critical areas for all options, but I kind of was hoping for a way to avoid bloating up the code with run-time option checks that can already set as constants at build time, as all of the possible methods of changing the options can also just change the flash. I guess most could just be copied from the EEPROM without too much code.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:07 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
ground wire from signal port

I wonder what is the draw back to cut the ground wire from signal port... since the esc and FC has common ground on battery

i'm thinking about cut out both vcc and gnd wire.. only leave signal


thx
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:34 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts
yeah the tones are different. didnt work.
sck error deosnt matter.

Quote:
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
most times this does actually mean what it says. check your connections.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:37 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
and btw... i found this esc somewhere... but it doesnt match up with any existing esc in database...

All i know is the esc is 20A rating and seems to have a crystal
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:40 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts
might be the HK ss?

edit: yeah it matches with the first page for the SS, and: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...rammable_.html
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:42 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
doesnt appear the same
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:44 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts
uh yeah it does:
look at the components. they follow thesame general layout.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:47 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,707 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
I wonder what is the draw back to cut the ground wire from signal port... since the esc and FC has common ground on battery

i'm thinking about cut out both vcc and gnd wire.. only leave signal


thx
I only use the power and ground from one esc to run my quad copter. then i have one cable from the FC to the rx that has all three wires plugged to throttle and everything else is connected by using only one wire(all three remaining esc's,Ail,Ele,Rudd, aux1 and ,aux2).

now if you are using opto esc's and using an external bec you can use only the white wire on all 4 esc to fc connections. or if you dont use the esc's internal bec and use an external bec you can connect the same as an opto esc.
TheOne420 is offline Find More Posts by TheOne420
Last edited by TheOne420; Oct 09, 2012 at 10:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:47 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
but vcc/reset/gnd and a unkonwn is soldered with some resistor?
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:48 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOne420 View Post
I only use the power and ground from one esc to run my quad copter. then i have one cable from the FC to the rx that has all three wires plugged to throttle and everything else is connected by using only one wire(all three remaining esc's,Ail,Ele,Rudd, aux1 and ,aux2).
i power fc with bec... but so far i kept both gnd and signal.... i'm thinking about take both vcc and gnd out .. only leave one signal wire from esc to fc
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 10:53 PM
Chad
TheOne420's Avatar
United States, CA, Cathedral City
Joined Dec 2010
1,707 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
i power fc with bec... but so far i kept both gnd and signal.... i'm thinking about take both vcc and gnd out .. only leave one signal wire from esc to fc
for sure with a ext bec the 2 extra wires are not needed.
TheOne420 is offline Find More Posts by TheOne420
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM