HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 06, 2012, 09:36 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
That will work.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2012, 09:46 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocanton View Post
Hm, that sounds like it might be a good idea... But I have a few questions, are you talking about having to manually adjust the fan speed as load increases, or would the fan speed adjustment be automatic? Also, I am thinking it might be a better idea to let temperature be what governs fan speed since some hot summer days you will need more fan than cold winters even though the load is the same. Since tempurature is a lagging indicator, you could just build a circuit with a thermistor, potentiometer, and MOSFET in line with the fan's wiring and use the pot to adjust the level of sensitivity of when the fan kicks in. In other words, I don't think that the fact that temperature is a lagging indicator would make it a bad idea as you could negate this problem by simply adjusting the fan to come on at as low a tempurature as required to keep things running cool. Temperature, after all, is what we are trying to control, so linking the fan directly with tempurature rising and falling seems like the most logically approach to me.
I prefer the elegance of simplicity.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:22 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,309 Posts
Along those lines, the simplest way to make a temp dependent fan control is use one of the LiPo battery monitors that also has a temp sensor. Remove the alarm buzzer and wire its output to the fan control pin, possibly inverting it (since most of the buzzer drivers just go from ground to +V). A small 12V relay is an agricultural but effective way to do it.

This one is a nice accurate one with good specs and functionality for $8.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...5F150C%5F.html

You can set the fan to start at any temp you want. When the temp drops, the fan cuts off again. The thermal circuit has enough hysteresis that it won't hunt around a particular temperature.

You also get a free nice supply voltage LED display with it.

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
I prefer the elegance of simplicity.
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:31 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Let me rephrase that.

I prefer the elegance and frugality of simplicity.

Nice jj604.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
I'll go a step further, the fans at full speed don't bother me. Could be that inside the double walled plastic case I installed them in muffles the sound.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 10:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2007
47 Posts
Pardon me, but In my humble opinion, you guys are killing ants with anvils.

Simply connecting pin 4 to ground enables the "active" feature of the fan.
It's simple enough to prove with a quick test...

I've overloaded these power supplies (over 50 amps) and at @20 amps, the fans spool up.
I've even tried placing 2 covering irons on full-blast in front of the inflow.
Fans spool up and supply doesn't skip a beat. Repeated this test numerous times.

It REALLY IS that simple.
SCOREMAN is offline Find More Posts by SCOREMAN
Last edited by SCOREMAN; Jul 07, 2012 at 10:44 AM. Reason: specified overload amperage
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 11:07 AM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,908 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCOREMAN View Post
Pardon me, but In my humble opinion, you guys are killing ants with anvils.

Simply connecting pin 4 to ground enables the "active" feature of the fan.
It's simple enough to prove with a quick test...

I've overloaded these power supplies (over 50 amps) and at @20 amps, the fans spool up.
I've even tried placing 2 covering irons on full-blast in front of the inflow.
Fans spool up and supply doesn't skip a beat. Repeated this test numerous times.

It REALLY IS that simple.
I've admitted my lack of knowledge so forgive me.

I have two, 24 volt supplies, built with these: mine use the ribbon cables for making attachments.

From which segment of the ribbon cable do I make a ground connection?

Where, specifically, do I make the ground connection?

Many thanks
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2007
47 Posts
Wire number 3 is the fan control.
On the latest one, I used dusey's suggestion and just connected 1 through 5 to ground. Easiest suggestion yet!
SCOREMAN is offline Find More Posts by SCOREMAN
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 12:05 PM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,908 Posts
So, if I connect 3 to the pins that are already grounded I'm good to go?

Thanks
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 02:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2007
47 Posts
Yep.
SCOREMAN is offline Find More Posts by SCOREMAN
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 08:07 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
So I am having an issue. I built a couple of these and they both seem to be working when I check the output voltages with my watt meter, they are putting out about 25 volts when connected in series. But I am getting some sort of error message when I connect the PL8 and not able to pull any amps out of it at 24v, 12v is fine. Has anyone else had issues with the 24v on a PL8?
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 07, 2012, 08:15 PM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,908 Posts
I built two of these 24 volt units and do not have any issues.
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 08:26 PM
Registered User
JurassicJet's Avatar
United States, WI, Chetek
Joined Jul 2011
480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocanton View Post
So I am having an issue. I built a couple of these and they both seem to be working when I check the output voltages with my watt meter, they are putting out about 25 volts when connected in series. But I am getting some sort of error message when I connect the PL8 and not able to pull any amps out of it at 24v, 12v is fine. Has anyone else had issues with the 24v on a PL8?
I have my two (24v) connected to my PL8 and have no issues. its been working awesome.

Is the PL8 giving you an error message?
JurassicJet is online now Find More Posts by JurassicJet
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 08:34 PM
Expo/DualRates = Lack of Skill
typeRA's Avatar
San Diego, CA
Joined Mar 2009
789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocanton View Post
So I am having an issue. I built a couple of these and they both seem to be working when I check the output voltages with my watt meter, they are putting out about 25 volts when connected in series. But I am getting some sort of error message when I connect the PL8 and not able to pull any amps out of it at 24v, 12v is fine. Has anyone else had issues with the 24v on a PL8?
Did you test the units individually, at high current (>40A), upon receipt? You may have received a bad one.
typeRA is online now Find More Posts by typeRA
Last edited by typeRA; Jul 07, 2012 at 08:48 PM. Reason: Added quote.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 08:45 PM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,908 Posts
I think he built 2, 24 volt systems, and got the same result with each.
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flydumini Frame Thread and Build Hints/Help nasgul Multirotor Talk 216 Sep 28, 2013 04:58 PM
Discussion DPS-600PB Power Supply Shuts Down wcsd106 Batteries and Chargers 3 Jun 23, 2013 06:11 PM
Mini-HowTo Tips, Tricks, Hints, Secrets & How To's to help make a build/rebuild easier... ABADGTP The Builders Workshop 37 Dec 24, 2011 11:48 AM
Discussion Sokol build tips and hints Dan the man High Performance 9 Aug 21, 2008 03:26 AM
Discussion GWS Piper Cub Build Tips & Hints? Royster Australia 111 Feb 07, 2007 03:11 PM