SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2014, 07:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
22 Posts
I am sorry Miru the pic is not very good and the gnd is actually in the center and the white is all the way to the side" wires twisted" so in the photo it looks that way it is 4 wire flat I am using and it didn't go in order so I had to twist a couple wires, I think even some of the wrap on the white wire melted good when I soldered it, that is probably what all you are seeing. I should have used the green wire for the green wire on the diagram but I didn't, I don't know what I was thinking
danzik is offline Find More Posts by danzik
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2014, 07:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
22 Posts
ooops I think you were referring to the mod photo, no the black and red wire are NOT connected together either if that is what you meant?
danzik is offline Find More Posts by danzik
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2014, 07:16 PM
Makers gonna make...
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,740 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danzik View Post
ooops I think you were referring to the mod photo, no the black and red wire are NOT connected together either if that is what you meant?
I'm trying to find out which pins are the red and black wire connected to on the HV side of the levelshifter. It looks like the red is connected to HV and GND, and black to RXI, is that so?
pawelsky is online now Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2014, 07:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
22 Posts
ok got ya, and no the red is going to HV and RXI and black wire is going to the ground
danzik is offline Find More Posts by danzik
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2014, 12:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
22 Posts
Hi guys, one thing I would like to know about this mod is that when I test the Nano with hyperterminal all show up good just like it should, is this test actually testing the level converter also? since ya don't connect to the actual wire harness that goes to the drone it made me wonder? if not is there a way to test the wires that go straight to the drone or is it doing the same exact thing almost except for the wires, cause I know the wires are good as I tested them. I have another motherboard on the way in case this is my issue, it really has me wondering at this point but I have been through like 3 of them, makes me wonder if some of these new boards ports are not working, I have read some about this being a possibility. Can the drone 2.2 boards or whatever they are " 5 pin" be telnet through the port????? I have read some about this but didn't know if it could be done with ar drone 2.0??? thanks again
danzik is offline Find More Posts by danzik
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2014, 12:52 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,321 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danzik View Post
Hi guys, one thing I would like to know about this mod is that when I test the Nano with hyperterminal all show up good just like it should, is this test actually testing the level converter also? since ya don't connect to the actual wire harness that goes to the drone it made me wonder? if not is there a way to test the wires that go straight to the drone or is it doing the same exact thing almost except for the wires, cause I know the wires are good as I tested them. I have another motherboard on the way in case this is my issue, it really has me wondering at this point but I have been through like 3 of them, makes me wonder if some of these new boards ports are not working, I have read some about this being a possibility. Can the drone 2.2 boards or whatever they are " 5 pin" be telnet through the port????? I have read some about this but didn't know if it could be done with ar drone 2.0??? thanks again
In a Nano setup the UART is shared, therefore you can NOT test the wires to the drone, it is either PC OR drone. You would need a MiruPCB to do that, it has a MONITOR mode where you can talk through HyperTerminal to the drone http://mirumod.tk/hw/mirupcb/mirupcb.php . The other way to do it is to use a FTDI board with a level converter properly attached to it.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2014, 11:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
22 Posts
Yeahhhhhhh! it is finaly working with the Pro mini and it just so happens to be my "OLD" pro mini that I couldnt get to work last time that I snagged the level converter off of for my new Nano mod! So I guess what I am saying here is I think I found my Issue, a bad level converter! I got a couple new converters in yesterday and decided to try it tonight and BINGO! It is just too bad I already ordered a new Motherboard that I wont be needing!!!!!! OUCH$$ I went through hell and back on this thing trying to get it to work, cant wait to fly it again! I have another question for you guys, you always say when plugging the mod into the pc to make sure the chips are facing upward, well do they need to be in the drone also? I am asking because the first mod I did with a NANO quit responding in mid flight and thankfully i just had to walk up to it and grab it cause it was low to the ground. The motherboard had wi-fi that night but drone acted real weird the next day no wi-fi all green lights but no wi-fi, I had no get new motherboard, my wiring on my first mod was sortove shotty but I am still not real sure what caused it. thanks for everything
danzik is offline Find More Posts by danzik
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2014, 03:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
1 Posts
I've recently put this mod together and had my first flight. Everything seems to be working fine, but after about 20 seconds or so the drone will automatically land. It doesn't seem to matter how high it is or what I'm telling it to do at the time, it will just land its self.

Does anyone know what might be causing this? Thanks.
ajhic is offline Find More Posts by ajhic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2014, 09:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhic View Post
I've recently put this mod together and had my first flight. Everything seems to be working fine, but after about 20 seconds or so the drone will automatically land. It doesn't seem to matter how high it is or what I'm telling it to do at the time, it will just land its self.

Does anyone know what might be causing this? Thanks.
I had a similiar problem. after some sec in air, the drone crashed actually.
My issue was old/damaged battery. try to connect to the smartphone and monitor the batt level during the flight. My battary dropped from 100% to 0 in a few seconds.
brunoneves21 is offline Find More Posts by brunoneves21
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:52 AM
AirQuad
Roman Khudyakow's Avatar
Russia, Tomskaya oblast, Tomsk
Joined May 2013
37 Posts
Hello All!

with the battery disconnected AR.Drone i can connect to the board (for reprogramming) via USB to a PC???

do not disconnected the board from the motherboard AR.Drone

p.s. AR.Drone 2.0, board XR-4Drone MiruMod
Roman Khudyakow is offline Find More Posts by Roman Khudyakow
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 117 Dec 07, 2014 05:04 AM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 10:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 11:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 12:04 PM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 04:54 PM