HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 27, 2012, 11:56 AM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,701 Posts
this one is RED is the fastest

DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 27, 2012, 12:51 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,761 Posts
That's funny.
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 01:56 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDMJim View Post
lets not start with the wings on fwd cars here.
Ok, so I do drive a red car with a wing on it, to be honest.
It's a 911 car with a lot of track time, so I have a good excuse

But I'm not sure what fwd vs rwd matters with wings. You gave to be min 75mph for it to do anything at all, and at that point, you're not using the downforce for accel traction, so drive is moot. Drive matters (for basics) just on turn exits (you accelerate), where wings don't. For example, watch where the f1 guys open the DRS wing slot in qualifying: right at apex, or earlier.

That being said, I don't think I've ever been on a track with a fwd car (that wasn't a joke)... for good reasons on its own. And if you don't track, then likelihood of needing a wing is small.

There are only 2 cars that I can think of that need wings for the road, a 911, and likely the Nissan Z cars. This is due to the sloped rear deck causing lift at greater than 75mph. That's why the grill on modern 911s w/o wings pops up on the interstate.
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:03 PM
2 Fast 2 Low & 2 Loud
scootrb4's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Nov 2011
3,288 Posts
Good one DaxFX


Um, where can I get one of those for my Reliant?
scootrb4 is online now Find More Posts by scootrb4
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 05:42 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
So I finally got my CG sorted after repairs. I had to add an OUNCE of lead to the tail (just in front of the belly duct) to get it to balance correctly. That's with the battery as far back as possible (any further and the hatch won't shut).

Anybody else have those sorts of problems?? What the heck?
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 06:51 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,761 Posts
Yes, I did. Move the battery back 1/2" and then move the ESC to the middle left of the hatch area not near the front. That should solve your CG without weight in the tail.
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 08:46 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
My rx is middle left. Not sure if there's room on the right for the 60a ESC...
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 11:49 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,761 Posts
I have a 60 amp Eflite Pro in mine. I'd take picture of it if it wasn't for the fact there is a car parked under it. Try squeezing in under the fuse side lip more to the outside. If I remember mine is kind of tucked under the lip.
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 09:50 AM
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,081 Posts
I've got a 40 amp pro in mine. Just put it in where the stock esc goes. Had to hog out a bit of foam, but it fits in fine.
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 10:02 AM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,761 Posts
40 amp won't cut it with a bigger, motor prop, and battery. With a P-25 and a metal motor mount things get nose heavy fast and depending on the battery so does the plane(fast).
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 11:16 AM
Registered User
JDMJim's Avatar
United States, IL, Joliet
Joined Jul 2011
2,149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtaylor996 View Post
Ok, so I do drive a red car with a wing on it, to be honest.
It's a 911 car with a lot of track time, so I have a good excuse

But I'm not sure what fwd vs rwd matters with wings. You gave to be min 75mph for it to do anything at all, and at that point, you're not using the downforce for accel traction, so drive is moot. Drive matters (for basics) just on turn exits (you accelerate), where wings don't. For example, watch where the f1 guys open the DRS wing slot in qualifying: right at apex, or earlier.

That being said, I don't think I've ever been on a track with a fwd car (that wasn't a joke)... for good reasons on its own. And if you don't track, then likelihood of needing a wing is small.

There are only 2 cars that I can think of that need wings for the road, a 911, and likely the Nissan Z cars. This is due to the sloped rear deck causing lift at greater than 75mph. That's why the grill on modern 911s w/o wings pops up on the interstate.
it all makes sense. as to fwd cars, I can see a wing working when the car has a big rear sway bar and setup to be tail happy.



what 1100hp fwd requires for downforce....and only works on high speed turns too....
JDMJim is offline Find More Posts by JDMJim
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 11:42 AM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
Like I said, I've never seen a FWD on the track, that wasn't a joke
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:39 AM
2 Fast 2 Low & 2 Loud
scootrb4's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Nov 2011
3,288 Posts
I used a 480 plus motor on 4s and a 60a Eflite ESC, No weight added with 2200mah 4s in original position. Good combo for short fast flights.
scootrb4 is online now Find More Posts by scootrb4
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:29 AM
Registered User
brushless55's Avatar
United States, CO, Longmont
Joined Nov 2011
4,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scootrb4 View Post
I used a 480 plus motor on 4s and a 60a Eflite ESC, No weight added with 2200mah 4s in original position. Good combo for short fast flights.
What KV ?
thanks
brushless55 is offline Find More Posts by brushless55
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:35 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Schenectady
Joined Sep 2009
247 Posts
This seems like a great warbird. I am considering flying the stock set-up without landing gear/retracts and no flaps. My concern is whether it can be hand launched without problems? How does she fly from the hand?
Buster1000 is offline Find More Posts by Buster1000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion World Models p47 1.20 dards Fuel Warbirds 1 Oct 20, 2010 11:55 AM
Discussion E-Flite P47 or Parkzone Corsair?? Gobstopper Electric Warbirds 13 Dec 02, 2009 10:37 PM
Discussion New Parkzone p51 or Greatplanes P47 casedit Electric Warbirds 5 Sep 01, 2009 10:08 AM